And so it begins…

gary chu
g(chu)
Published in
2 min readJan 2, 2015
Photo by Remaztered Studio

Hi.

To be perfectly honest, I’m not sure who will be reading this. It seems a bit odd for me to use this space to jot down some thoughts and reflect on my teaching and have others read it, but I think that this is the next natural step in how I can reflect on and process my teaching. Blogging, as my mind has rationalized, allows for me to transfer my thoughts and, hopefully, receive some feedback and/or insight from others in the world. We’ll see what happens…

I suppose this first post is like a bag of trail mix: a little bit of this, a little bit of that to give you a taste of who I am, what I’m about, and all that jazz.

So let’s begin:

For the past four-ish years, I have been teaching high school mathematics just outside of Chicago (20 minutes north of Downtown), and I couldn’t be happier. I love being in the classroom building relationships with my students, and teaching them a thing or two about math. I strongly believe in collaborative work, and encourage students to think and work together. This year, I am implementing Standards-Based Grading (SBG) in all of my classes (more on that in another post).

Not only am I a classroom teacher, but I am a very active member of our school and professional community. I believe that school is not only a place to get an education, but a space for students to find what they love, be it sports, service, or the arts. I am an avid (amateur) photographer, and I enjoy capturing any and every moment I am a part of.

Over the past few years, I have joined the mathematics teachers community in presenting at workshops (ICTM, MMC, ICE, NICE) and co-hosted professional development opportunities (Complex Instruction Consortium). I have found it to be so meaningful to hear about other’s experiences, and to share my own.

Next year, I will (hopefully) have completed my graduate program. I intend on staying in the classroom, but would love for the opportunity to continue my education as well.

Above all else, I am a husband, son, brother, and father to a furry puppy named Kate. I enjoy dining (fine and casual), traveling, and doodling when I’m bored.

If any of the above interests you, stay tuned; I’ve got a lot on my mind.

— gary

--

--