Treasure Hunter | February 2020

Treasure Hunter
Treasure Hunter
Published in
6 min readMar 21, 2020

February was a funny month.

1. Film

Klaus (2019)

I might be a couple of months delayed watching Christmas movies, but this one is really worth mentioning. Klaus was a warm movie that had a beautiful spin on the Christmas story and how Santa Claus (or Klaus) formulated in the first place. I won’t mention more, but if you are looking for something positive, beautiful, funny and light to watch to remind you of our common humanity and the good, this is a good choice.

2. Self Care

Goop Labs

First episode focuses on the use of mushrooms as psychedelic therapy, showing that they allow you to release intense emotions. The second, on the other hand, features Wim Fof, known as the “Iceman”, who talks about the power of the mind and breathing to control emotions and sensations (like the cold). The third episode, “our pleasure”, follows, which encourages women to explore their own bodies, desires and of course spoke around reaching the big O. Goop Labs came out this year with a few controversial reviews. Some say it’s all just a huge brainwashing, others say that this stuff is changing their lives. I watched it with curiosity and a dash of entertainment in mind. I’m always in search of the new way to improve the health and this was entertaining to explore what people out there are getting into. I’d recommend.

John Amaral

In one of Goop Lab Episodes, Gwyneth introduced John Amaral as someone who she pays a visit to on a regular basis. Dr. John Amaral originally trained as a chiropractor, he developed a Formula over 25 years which became a somatic energy healing practic called Energy Flow Formula. John describes himself as an energy practitioner and worked with energy healing. It’s based on the principle that trauma and physical pain can be alleviated by manipulating the energy field around one’s body, which is located four to six feet away from a person. According to the Wall Street Journal, a healing session with John is around £2,500. Pricy right?

So, there was no surprise that after the streaming of the episode on Goop Lab, John announced that he is launching 7 Day Energy Challenge via his website. My good friend Stephanie Gilmour and I were up for an experiment. It was interesting, it was different, it took 7 days and I did it. John continues to offer this challenge on his website as a continuous following a huge demand he received after the series. Would I recommend it? Yes, because it’s different, it provides few new breathing techniques which are always helpful when trying to deal with anxiety, anxiousness or a state of Fight or Flight. It doesn’t require too much intense commitment and it’s also for free. I’m #greatful for that.

3. On Character

Master class — Anna Wintour

When I first watched the September Issue way way back ago, this was the first time when I was introduced to Anna Wintour. She felt mysterious, confident, stubborn, overconfident and I was questioning her judgement of fashion. Why would I think that I was qualified for that, still baffles me. Overconfidence? :)

During 12 segments of Master Class, Anna talks about so many various topics, touching on Creativity, Leadership, creating a brand, giving back and building own voice. I thoroughly enjoyed watching this class. I haven’t done the exercises and recommended tasks that she proposed in the programme, but maybe it’s because I was just so wowed by her as a person. She is so passionate and great at what she does, which inspired me to find that within me, somehow, someday. I would highly recommend this master class, and I might return to it in a couple of months to do the practical components to see if I could create a brand of my own :)

Leader — Monica Aldama from Cheer

Netflix series Cheer has been something that took the world by surprise and absolute addiction. It’s about The Navarro College Cheer Team who are practising and preparing for 2019 NCA National Championship. Their coach — Monica Almada.

What was addictive about the series was the progress and the journey that the team were going through and what stood out the most for me was the character of Monica Almada. I was highly inspired by her as a coach, mother, women and a person. She is Alpha Female, highly competitive, focused, determined, hard-working, but also very caring, loving and knows how to celebrate when the time has arrived. I highly recommend watching this.

4. New

This is a new section, looking at the new things that are emerging either in the world in general, or in my life as I might be a little behind with the new stuff that are popping up in young peoples lives.

Malachi Chewie DeAth

On my way back to Lisbon from Toronto at the end of January, I was chilling out in the airport lounge and people next to me started chatting away in a quiet lounge. It was difficult not to overhear their conversation and where it was all building up to. There was an elderly couple in their 60s who were travelling to Tenerife for a bit of 6week holidays and a young mom of early 40s with his son. The son, whos name is Malachi DeAth (real name), was sitting with his headphones on and watching a youtube video. In the meantime, his mom, was busy introducing her son’s skills to the elderly couple. They were on their way to Barcelona for indoor skydiving competition which is a new sport that immerging in the world.

My curiosity got me and I had to check it all out and see Chewie in action. This is simply cool stuff! This video is from his performance in Barcelona :) Life is cool :)

5. Series — The Good Place

We experience the finale of the Good Place.

6. Street Art

Some beautiful Street Art from Toronto Art Takeover.

7. Best of Lisbon

JNcQUOI Asia

opened in Summer 2019 and has been keeping it’s popularity ever since. It’s grand scale, stunning design, immense details, a vibrant social energy — makes it all a memorable place. It’s on a pricy side, but cheesecake on desert menu is impressive. Designed by Barcelona based architect, Lazaro Rosa Violan, the concept is a celebration of the Porgutese discoveries in Asia.

Las Vegan

I’ve been wanting to go there for around 9 months. I’m so glad that I did as the beyond meat is just amazing.

Lisbon Smile

OK, not always do I recommend things that are practical, but it felt rewarding after finding a good Dentist in Lisbon, so worth mentioning.

So What

Organic Products and Vegan Hairdressers in town. Not cheap, but nice and comfy, filled with stylish hairdressers.

Other things that happened in February:

Until March! :)

xoxo

--

--