Mid Autumn Festival

Senna
G05_Writing 2
Published in
1 min readDec 3, 2020

Today’s moon is special; it is a bright, mellow full moon. In Chinese culture, today is Mid- Autumn Festival, a day for family gathering. I stand on the roof bathed in the soft moonlight. Looking down at the hundreds of red lanterns hung on every door like a scarlet starry sky at my feet. The stars in the night sky look like crystals making a perfect backdrop to the lucid moon. Suddenly, a delicious smell of barbecued food floats up to my nose, triggering my hunger. Some of my favorite mouth-watering dishes are juicy pork, fresh seafood and lean beef strips. We also have hand-made moon cakes to celebrate this gathering. The golden crust like pie looks like a tiny full moon, and the sweet stuffing melts in my mouth, leaving a taste of happiness. My father prepares some oolong tea for us and it leaves a sweet aftertaste on my tongue when I drink it. Surrounded by the starry sky, we are now reunited in a circle- becoming the most beautiful and unblemished moon in the world.

-Ally, Cyril, Senna

--

--