A Day in the Life of a… Test Analyst

Amelia Carey
G4M Tech
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2019

Ever wondered what it’s like to work at Gear4music? Here we’ll be asking some of the team how they’ve found working here. Today we got an inside glimpse into what it’s like to be a Test Analyst from our very own Aimi Lightowler who’s been with us since January 2018.

How long have you been with Gear4music?

I have been at Gear4music for a year and 4 months.

Why did you choose to work at Gear4music?

I was looking for a place where I could grow professionally without stifling my creativity, where I could fulfil the goals I had set for myself whilst improving my skills as a tester. When I saw the job ad pop up on LinkedIn I read it and got a good feeling about the place and the culture and after my interview it was simply a no-brainer!

What does the average day for a Test Analyst at Gear4music involve?

Attending daily stand ups with project teams and reporting on progress, writing test plans and test cases and documenting results as testing is executed, writing comprehensive bug reports and communicating these with the project teams, writing and running automation test scripts, attending sprint planning sessions and providing testing estimates for the Project Managers, demonstrating new software to key stakeholders, deciding whether to have a donut or something healthy from the fruit basket….donut shhhhhhh!

What’s your favourite thing about working for Gear4music?

I love the collaborative ethos we have at G4M; when working on a project everyone’s ideas and suggestions are heard which in turn leads to some really creative solutions.

What would you say is the best thing about the office?

Definitely has to be the people! I no longer wake up in the morning and think “Urrgh! I have to go to work today!” and that is mostly down to the incredible team we have at G4M. Everyone is motivated to delivering quality software and we absolutely achieve this whilst having a little fun along the way.

What have you learnt working at Gear4music?

I have got my teeth into automation testing which has been a fun challenge and I am now delving into the world of JavaScript to help support this. It’s nice to have the opportunity for continued learning.

What would you say to someone considering working for Gear4music?

You’ve got nothing to lose and everything to gain! Everyone here is so supportive and willing to help you with whatever it is that you need whether it be sorting a test environment, helping you solve a query or just buying the donuts.

Any additional remarks…

Gear4music has a great social side too, we have monthly lunches and social events, we run baking competitions, movie nights and we even have our own D&D group.

--

--