Skeptical About Scrum

Nishtha Ahuja
GA UXDI 6
Published in
1 min readDec 12, 2016

Ok, so when we had our first lesson on Scrum, I was skeptical. Actually, I thought it was stupid. I may have even Googled “Scrum sucks” for a minute to validate my thoughts and feelings. I couldn’t wrap my head around why we needed a formal methodology to work efficiently. Just do it, ya know?

And then, I started working in groups! Collaborating is awesome. It’s also hard — keeping track of everything and everyone and their work and my work and all the work isn’t a piece of cake. And I found myself citing Scrum rules to organize our project and to be able to best communicate with each other…and then quickly realized why there’s a formal methodology for this.

On an individual basis, I can control the path and organization of my project just fine, but when others get involved, it’s important to have a structure in place that keeps everyone on the same page, and always, always, always focused on the user. Scrum allows for that and does it better than I ever could.

Scrum, I’m sorry for talking shit. I hope you forgive me. From here on out, I sing your praises.

--

--