Where’s the Trust?

Nishtha Ahuja
GA UXDI 6
Published in
1 min readNov 27, 2016

As if gaining trust with people wasn’t hard enough, try it with websites.

I looove my cat. Yeah, I’m one of those. With loving her comes feeding her, playing with her, and buying her overpriced trinkets, because well, that’s the price of love.

Here’s a few reasons why I trust one pet site, but not the other:

Trustworthy: http://www.petco.com/shop/en/petcostore

  1. Search bar. Right there, in front of me. Let’s do this.
  2. The static breadcrumbs and shopping cart help me navigate around the website and keep me in check when I’m accidentally two hours deep into all the cat things
  3. The grid alignment of the site is consistent throughout giving the overall design a clean aesthetic

Not trustworthy (sorry not sorry): http://www.petsuppliesplus.com/

  1. The first thing I see on the website is bright red text stating “Recall Information”…….ummm….
  2. The search bar took more time than it ever should to find since it’s small and in an inconspicuous area on the page — in fact, the overall grid alignment is inconsistent
  3. SO. MANY. FONTS.

--

--