What does it mean to be a designer

Introducing Gabriel Galindo — Visual Designer

Gabriel Galindo
Gabriel Galindo Design
1 min readJan 15, 2019

--

When I say, “I am a designer”, people often ask me: “what defines design, what does it mean to be a designer?”. In my perspective, design means environment. Often, I ask people to look around and analyse what they see. Everything surrounding us has been thought, planned, crafted, and created. Everything that we see, manipulate or use has been designed by someone with a purpose or a function. Our environment is designed, we live in design.

However, I can’t define myself as a programmer, graphic or industrial designer. In fact, my experience in the field has led me to use a variety of design methods that encompass many different skills, which define me as a multidisciplinary visual designer.

Being a designer, my practice focuses on creating memorable visual experiences through different means. Whether it is a pamphlet, a video or a tangible product, I want the audience to feel, to remember and to appreciate the beauty of every work I design. My vision is to take care of the user experience, the functionality of the product and the environment where the product is being handled. Those are key aspects for the product to be remarkable and unforgettable.

--

--