In Praise of Decay

Lee Welles
GaiaMinded
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2016
Tibetan Sky Burial — Creative Commons

When I die, please leave me be.

Let me bloat, putrefy, rot,

be compost, once my soul flies free.

Take me to the woods and leave me there.

Let the coyotes chaw my bones and mice

make nests of hair.

The crows may have my eyes.

My skin, a nursery sweet for flies.

And all the bits within, a playground

for mycelium.

When I die, please leave me be.

Don’t fill this body with chemicals

I’d rather become a tree.

All my carbon, nitrogen, calcium

flowing up through roots

and out to limbs.

Where once again I will breathe,

leaping from a thousand leaves.

I always knew I should, be one with my

beloved woods.

When I die, please leave me be.

I know you need to mourn

but I’m no longer me.

I wore this suit for many years

I’m done with it,

and have no fear.

In death, I can be everywhere

soil, water, flowing air.

I hope that you can plainly see, in death it’s best

to leave me be.

Disclaimer: I’m not a poet. I have never really worked on the craft of it. But these lines have been batting around my head for a few months, this morning I let them out.

If this didn’t disturb you too much (either the topic or the atrocious poetry,) consider supporting Lee in ongoing quest to be a nature-based joy-ninja!

Follow Gaia Minded for ongoing mind/body hacks, musings, meditations, and the occasional bit of ridiculousness.

Green hearts are nice, but only if they’re genuine.

To have Lee write for, or speak to, your tribe, click over to her website.

--

--

Lee Welles
GaiaMinded

Lee Welles is the author of the award-winning Gaia Girls Book Series, an ex-three-term city councilman, and a music-playing, tap-dancin’ fool.