5 random things from my top 2019 Deezer songs

Odunoluwa
Gain in the Pain
Published in
3 min readJan 10, 2020

Looking through the 49 songs on my top 2019 Deezer playlist, a few random things jumped at me:

  1. I needed continued reassurance that God loved me. Because it was a dark year, I did very little praying but I never doubted God’s love for me, even though I stopped trusting Him. (Sounds paradoxical but that’s a story for another day). Songs like these were my lifeline. Fighting For Me by Riley Clemmens (thanks to K, my “darlingest” friend who knew I needed this song in my life), Reckless Love by Cory Asbury, Not Afraid by Jesus Culture, Strong Enough by Matthew West.
  2. I was very anxious and needed comfort. God Only Knows by for King and Country (original), for King and Country & Dolly Parton, for King and Country (Timbaland Version). Yup all three versions of God Only Knows appear on my list and pretty high up as well starting with the Dolly Parton version.
  3. I revived my love for Daughtry courtesy of my new friend, V. I met V in 2019 and V happened to be a prominent feature of my 2019 and recovery process. Some new friends end up being as impactful as the old and tested ones. I’ve been in love with Chris Daughtry since his American Idol days. Followed him closely for a while but it tapered off. I rooted for him when he contested for American Idol and he was my choice to win. Looking back now, it is only right to call him the winner of that season, being the most commercially successful. As You Are, Start of Something Good, It’ Not Over, all by Daughtry.
  4. I longed for my childhood. So many ABBA songs feature on my top 2019 playlist. I started listening to ABBA in my mum’s womb, was born into ABBA, grew up on ABBA. We had all ABBA records and video cassettes growing up. Stumbled on an ABBA track one day and nostalgia got me listening to many more over and over again. Knowing Me, Knowing You, Take A Chance On Me, Fernando, Dancing Queen, Voulez-Vous.
  5. My Deezer account was hacked by a B.I.B.Z fan (what is a B.I.B.Z??). I didn’t realize this on time but my playlist was frequently interrupted by different B.I.B.Z songs and whenever I tried to get back to my playlist, I’ll get a notification from Deezer that I was not allowed to share my account and it’ll go back to whatever B.I.B.Z song that was playing. I eventually changed my Deezer password and that was the last of the B.I.B.Z interruptions but the harm had been done and Deezer continues to recommend B.I.B.Z songs to me even though I always skip within 5 seconds. No, I shall not be sharing links to B.I.B.Z songs because I do not want YouTube turning on me as well.

Bonus, A few songs from The Greatest Showman soundtrack album featured like From Now On, This is me, Tightrope and The Other Side.

I wonder what my Top 2020 playlist will look like. For now, my most frequently played is Rachel Platten’s Fight Song.

Are there any songs I should be listening to? Please share.

--

--

Odunoluwa
Gain in the Pain

Love Lover | Justice Entrepreneur | Entrepreneurs Lawver™ | Coffee Lover | Co-founder DIYlaw & The Longe Practice LP | Early Stage Investor | Rookie Developer