Are You a Decision-maker or a Problem-solver?

Knowing the answer can make a difference in whether you enjoy your job and succeed.

Jose R Paz C
Gain Inspiration
3 min read1 day ago

--

Photo by Usman Yousaf on Unsplash

What are the differences, and why does it matter?

What are the differences, and why does it matter?
Most of us -with technical backgrounds- do better and enjoy analyzing and getting to the root or cause of problems. Academics and training show us that breaking large and complex issues into smaller, fragmented ones facilitates our understanding. We follow a deductive reasoning process: from the known effects of a phenomenon to its causes.

Later in our careers, we move into managerial positions where performance switches to decision-making processes, a challenge that can present a high risk of failure. To do well, we need to understand the opposite process, Synthesis, an inductive one: knowing the causes, we put together a hypothesis, a new concept, which explains the observed effects. The scientific method of reasoning requires the capacity for abstraction rather than analysis.

Both processes, analysis, and synthesis, are necessary to arrive at a desired outcome. In any social or business initiative, selecting teams with complementary talents -capable of abstract and analytical thought- becomes a cornerstone of an effective organization.

Understanding how one can perform in decision-making processes vs. problem-solving can make the difference between enjoying our job and performing at our best.

What can you do to align your vocation with your professional responsibility?

I worked as a process engineer at the beginning of my professional career and then moved to managerial and higher roles in the O&G sector for almost 30 years. Since retirement, I have mentored young entrepreneurs, owners, and directors of SMEs in Venezuela, Chile, and Peru for the last 15 years.

Occasionally, I have felt disappointed after arriving at a new post I worked hard to deserve but found difficult to align with my expectations. In such circumstances, one faces a double challenge: stay motivated and compete successfully with peers. From these experiences, I have drawn the following tips:

Take your time to understand the skills and challenges of any new position

During my first job assignment, as a process engineer in a refining complex, my mentor and supervisor (take advantage when you can recognize your boss as a mentor, especially in the early steps of your professional development) advised me to stay a minimum of three years to experience a complete cycle: process engineering, operations, and maintenance. Two years later, another assignment was open and offered to me. I asked my supervisor what he thought about it. He advised me to stay in for another year to experience an assignment in maintenance turnaround.

I stayed, and the assignment offered me a 360 view of my job with lots of opportunities for problem-solving and decision-making. Years later, when I acted as head of programming and operations manager, I realized how well I got along and developed a close relationship with the operational teams thanks to my better understanding of their responsibilities.

Learn to identify your strengths and weakness

Very few can transition from problem-solving to decision-making jobs without stress or feeling uncomfortable. Today there is no difference in challenge, remuneration, or recognition by your peers. So, you don't have to feel obliged to move to a managerial or directive level and sacrifice what you love doing.

When I was forced to retire from the O&G sector, at the age of 52, I felt frustrated and disillusioned for not being able to stay longer, but 20 + years later, I realized how fortunate I have been to work with more than 100 startup founders and owners of SMEs. I have enjoyed it and met people from three different countries which has helped me understand the challenges for small and medium businesses in LATAM.

Learn how to work effectively in multidisciplinary teams

No matter how good and talented you are in problem-solving and decision-making, there will always be better, more efficient, and more effective ways to improve, and these will come from teamwork.

I have witnessed many entrepreneurs and owners of SMEs solve their problems and arrive at more innovative and disruptive solutions when working in multidisciplinary teams. Time and financial, human, and relational resources will get you sooner to reach your desired objectives.

--

--

Jose R Paz C
Gain Inspiration

I write about my views, experience, and lessons learned. I've worked in the USA and Venezuela and mentored and coached entrepreneurs in Venezuela, Peru, & Chile