Healing, Unleashed

Navigating Trauma Recovery with the Help of My Dogs

Trigger warnings: Domestic violence, animal abuse (non-graphic reference)

Every evening around 9 p.m., my dogs and I take our anxiety medication.

When they hear me shake the pill bottle, they come scampering to the edge of the kitchen counter to sit and wait like the very good dogs they are.

The section of the floor on which they sit is just a hair outside of the actual kitchen, where they know they aren’t allowed due to the very real possibility of me tripping over them with something hot, sharp, and/or doomed to make a gigantic mess if dropped. This ban doesn’t stop them from leaning their noses as far over the boundary as possible every once in a while to check if the rules have changed and to indicate their displeasure on the matter.

Little activists, just like their mom.

They have their own extra large jar of Jif Natural peanut butter in their cabinet, because choosy moms choose Jif. Jif Natural is actually the second-best peanut butter on the market, though. The top spot goes to Jif Natural with Honey, but I can never find that in a big jar.

I recently began taking matters into my own hands; mixing my own Jif Natural with local honey. That cooking tip is just for you. Also, Jif, call me for sponsorship opportunities (but also please don’t be problematic).

--

--

Veronica Wren - Trauma Sucks. Recovery Shouldn't.
Gain Inspiration

Trauma sucks. Recovery shouldn't. Subscribe here for your FREE exclusive guided journal ❤️‍🩹 bio.link/veronicawren ❤️‍🩹 Domestic Abuse & CPTSD Recovery Coach