What Keeps You Motivated?

What do you do when you don’t know what to do?

Holistic Holly
Gain Inspiration
3 min readApr 7, 2023

--

Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

You know that moment when you ‘hit a wall’?

A brain fart, writer’s block, analysis paralysis, feeling like there’s so much you could be doing but have no idea where to start? It can be really frustrating at times, so how do we break that vicious cycle to actually get going?

Actually, you should do just that. Just get going.

Motivation makes you excited about something, excited to DO that thing. But once you’re in front of it, on the battlefield as I like to say, everything you read and learned and studied is just gone. Mind, blank.

The magic to motivation is action.

There are always steps to success and it takes time to make progress. But taking action is making progress. Once you tighten up those boot straps and physically start doing whatever it is that tickles-your-fancy, that’s where growth begins.

Taking action is everything. I know from experiencing both; taking action and just sitting and being excited about how great it could be. To be honest, sitting around and being excited about it felt like a waste of that energy.

So what was holding me back?

Why wasn’t I taking action?

Fear, mostly. Being committed to something I didn’t know enough about. Which can be a fear for a lot of people, I’m sure I’m not alone there. But I learned that stepping even just one foot in is safe. Taking action doesn’t mean going all in first round.

Making progress will always take steps and always take time.

Another reason why taking action instead of over-exciting yourself is the best first step is it breaks you away from over-thinking about what could be, and throws you into the reality of actually doing it from the start.

We can easily get ourselves caught up in the future visions of what it is that we gained such interest in, but that’s not the reality, yet. Absolutely, keep that vision, that vision will keep you motivated and taking action will keep that vision your focal point. We are destined for greatness, if we let ourselves get there.

Your vision might change along the way and that’s completely fine. That’s progress. Learning what you like and don’t like is all a part of those steps to following what motivates you. You learn more about you in that process of growth.

I have dealt with depression and anxiety for a long time now and it’s little but impactful practices, like this, that truly help me make progressive steps in my life.

When I feel like I’ve ‘hit a wall’ and I don’t know where or how to start, I just do it.

It might not make sense at first, I probably look like I don’t know what I’m doing but who cares, because I’m doing it; and I’m doing it for me.

The things I enjoy doing are not a waste of time.

Is there something that’s caught your interest that you can’t seem to get off your mind?

Is there a book you’ve been wanting to start and just can’t find the ‘right’ time to sit down and relax?

Maybe a project you’ve been thinking about starting?

Pencil it in to your schedule to read that book.

Get up and stand or sit in front of that project.

That first step is commitment alone, and it’s not scary; it’s progress.

I appreciate you for reading and stay empowered, beautiful people!

I am always open to any feedback or comments!

--

--

Holistic Holly
Gain Inspiration

Be happy, be healthy and be inspired and inspiring. Loves yoga, animals, reading and writing and doing anything that makes me happy. Colorado local.