I Know What Songs I want For My funeral.

Z-Louise
Gain Inspiration
Published in
6 min readMay 14, 2024

--

But I still don’t know what to do with my life!

A bouquet of flowers
Photo by Suhyeon Choi on Unsplash

Life is funny and strange and yes; the title does seem a bit morbid, but it really isn’t. As an anxious person in my 20s and throughout my life I’ve thought deeply about the songs I want for my funeral. I guess because it’s the only control or contribution I will have to my own death.

I remember talking with my friends one night and discussing over alcohol what songs we would choose. My friend at the time said she wanted to cry buckets of tears at my funeral so I should choose something very emotional. I laughed but I was also touched by it in a way. I spent way too much of my 20s being too anxious and afraid to leave my bedroom for what- ifs.

I went through this mad phase of thinking about all the things that could happen to me. “What if I go outside cross the road and get run over?” It didn’t help that my bedroom was violet colored. I had a Parma violet duvet cover surrounded by purple rope lights that went along the walls. It kind of resembled the inside of a new age spaceship with violet rays! I don’t think I could put up with a room like that anymore thank God!

--

--

Z-Louise
Gain Inspiration

‘Variety is the spice of life’ Lover of quotes and quiet time! Please feel free to support my writing here https://zoe-eccles.medium.com/membership