Inspiration & playfulness

ZD Finn
Gain Inspiration
Published in
3 min readJul 20, 2023

--

Photo by olena ivanova on Unsplash

Each morning before I settle to do my spiritual journalling, I play one card game and three word games. Today I was aware of the presence of my inspirer while I did this, and I felt as if we were playing a waiting game in good humour.

Since joining Medium almost two months ago, I have adopted a playful attitude towards contributing. I have not taken it, or myself, too seriously.

First, I was keen to explore whether having a structure around my writing would shift my focus from inspiration to the writing itself.

When this did start to happen, I gave myself a talking to and shifted back to prioritising the inspiration and the playfulness and ignoring the rest. (Sorry marketers.)

This morning it was definitely playfulness that had the upper hand and once I opened my empty page ready to capture inspiration, I was not disappointed. We discussed how inspiration and playfulness are closely linked …

‘Play has the ability within it for exploration and release, like a dandelion head, a clock I believe you call it, blowing in the wind.

You create a bloom, or we create a bloom, and release it into the surrounding airwaves.

A dandelion clock is an interesting structure. It radiates out from a central point and has tiny filaments that can detach and fly for miles, tiny seed heads that float on the breeze and seed themselves in other gardens.

Other gardens, other people, other blooms shooting forth into the sunlight, is that not what’s happening with your writing?

Seed heads shimmering in the airwaves of humanity and taking root in the gardens of people’s souls.

Souls that may be unrecognised in their own garden, but recognise a filament of Light when it lands close by.

Worry not about their destination, concentrate on playing and then you will not be attached to outcomes.’

Photo by Daphné Richard on Unsplash

In this context, the ‘sunlight’ is also the Light of Spirit, which shines constantly on our world. It matters not whether it is recognised or accepted it is there, it is literally the nectar of life.

‘Is that not what we do every morning? Rearrange the Light and find meaning within it, meaning which reflects on the garden of your life.

It is as if I am sunlight and your life is a garden which has its seasons, where blooms open up and fade away and where some dead heading is needed in order for new growth to spring forth.

You present the blooms or hold up the dead branches and I shine Light upon them. Is this not always the relationship between Spirit and man?

So, this has reminded me of is the importance of play, exploration and letting go. That feels good and right for me, sharing what I have in this moment, feeling enriched by having opened to this Light, and gratitude for my ability to do so.

Joining Medium was a symptom of the fact that I now have the time and the confidence to continue with inspired writing, an unintended consequence of aging and lockdown and the loss of more recognisable identities in this world.

Identities that decried playfulness, and always came with consequences, so my p’s and my q’s always had to be in order.

Now if my Q precedes my P I am happy to play with that new sequence and see where it goes, what a blessed release that has turned out to be.

© ZD Finn 2023

Finn runs a healing and meditation practice in London, publishes her own inspired journals, and offers mentoring to those seeking to strengthen their own soul connection.

Q&A If you have any questions on this, or anything else I have written, please comment or email me via zdfinn.com and I will do my best to answer, either from the Teachings I have studied or inspirationally.

--

--

ZD Finn
Gain Inspiration

Author of ‘The Library of Lives,’ a series of inspired journals, healer, inspired speaker, mentor zdfinn.com