Vinia Majaba
Gain Inspiration
Published in
1 min readDec 23, 2023

--

Is three a crowd? It won’t if you treat both sides equally.

Photo by Katy Anne on Unsplash

I love observing people. You never know when that nugget of wisdom will hit you.

Just after I finished eating, my attention turned discreetly toward the neighbouring table where three ladies sat. Two were engrossed in taking selfies while the third watched silently, seemingly awaiting inclusion. However, her friends continued their selfies without her. I couldn’t help but empathise with her situation. Surely, she must have pondered, “What’s the point of inviting me here if they’ll ignore me?” Despite this, she remained composed, retrieving her phone to occupy herself.

What’s the takeaway? The presence of three can’t become a crowd if someone takes the initiative to include the excluded. This prevents the invitees from thinking, “I won’t join them again.”

It’s easy to get absorbed in our own worlds and forget those around us. Yet, it’s crucial to remember that inclusion matters and can significantly impact someone’s day. Whether during a meal or in any setting, making an effort to include others matters. Let’s engrain the idea that three is never a crowd if we strive to include everyone. This way, we foster stronger connections and create more positive experiences for all involved.

--

--