Teacher Monstera Deliciosa

Melissa Black
Gain Inspiration
Published in
3 min readSep 15, 2022

“Nature is our greatest teacher.” — Rajendra Singh

A neighbor invited me to a plant swap about a month or so ago. I had never heard of a plant swap before. Nevertheless, my neighbor explained that I could bring plant cuttings to trade for a new houseplant. Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to prepare properly but attended anyway. The swap took place at a neighborhood brewery; amongst the kegs and storage items, people sat with their plants abound waiting to trade their plant(s) for something new.

I quickly found myself frustrated for not having brought any plants with me. I assumed that I wouldn’t be able to take home a new plant, since I brought nothing of my own to the swap. An attendee informed me that I could find something at the freebie table. Now, the freebie table was a simple wooden table with plants “not worthy” of a trade. On that table, I found a Monstera Deliciosa plant.

Three heart leaves shot from a stem wrapped in a wet paper towel and tin foil. One leaf was incredibly small, barely two inches long, and not quite heart-shaped. The largest was a beautiful green heart leaf with some yellowing (almost undetectable at first glance). The last leaf, a medium-sized ripped heart, folded onto itself; almost in embarrassment for its placement on the freebie table. Teacher Monstera damaged heart leaves and all was going home with me.

When I got back home I immediately planted the Monstera. It was so beautiful with its one huge heart-shaped leaf filtering the sunlight. Each of the three leaves had its issue; too small, ripped, or yellowing. However, I was appreciative and grateful for the new plant.

It’s been almost two months since the plant swap. In the past week or so, new shoots and stems began sprouting from the plant. I realized that the plant was thriving… Yet, I noticed that the largest and once prettiest of the three leaves was beginning to develop more yellow around the perimeter. Instantly I knew I needed to cut off two of the original, damaged leaves. As I cut them, I thanked them (in my mind) for their beauty and recognized that their departure would make way for new beginnings.

Less than 5 days later there are now 4 new leaves tightly curled into skinny leaf “straws”. When I realized the growth and change happening to the plant, I immediately realized that this plant from the “freebie table” was indeed a teacher.

Teacher Monstera reminded me that we all experience some level of trauma, or at the least endure a few bumps and bruises. Sometimes we feel like we’ve been abandoned and left on the “freebie table” while folks pass us by. Or perhaps we may feel so damaged that we think no one else can truly relate to what’s going on.

The more I learn about boundaries, the more comfortable I become with the idea and practice of knowing when to cut things off. There’s a time to cut off the parts which were once beautiful and now damaged. In our quest for healing and peace, we all need to give ourselves the space/opportunity to thrive with our heart [leaves] whole and renewed.

Thrive on.

If you liked this blog post, check out “Mindful Back to School Shopping” and “The Essentials” my favorite classroom gadgets under $20.

Interested in learning with me? Let’s set up a time.

Subscribe to the blog and you’ll never miss out on the next post.

--

--

Melissa Black
Gain Inspiration

Black Educator, Teacher, Learner, Reader, and Coach. Writing to share my personal and professional thoughts and experiences. We were put here to wonder.