The Power of Gratitude in Challenging Times: Unlocking Resilience and Positivity

Shelli Lynn
Gain Inspiration
Published in
2 min readJul 1, 2023

--

Embracing Gratitude as a Tool for Strength and Serenity in Turbulent Circumstances

A colorful picture of a man looking out at the sky from the ocean. The colors in the sky and the ocean are beautiful. The man is holding his arms out and you can see his reflection in the water. He looks free from the troubles of this world.
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Gratitude is often something we take for granted in our chaotic and busy lives. However, I have discovered that through gratitude, we can heal both our bodies and our minds. In the midst of a string of challenging days, I want to express my gratitude for the following:

First and foremost, I am immensely grateful for my husband. His kindness, compassion, and daily sacrifices for our family are truly remarkable. He has been my best friend for 36 years, and I consider myself incredibly lucky to have him by my side.

Next, I am grateful for my two sons. They are exceptional individuals, and I love them unconditionally. Their kindness and compassion towards others fill me with pride and gratitude.

I cannot overlook the joy that my two amazing grandsons bring into our lives. I firmly believe that they are a precious gift from our glorious God.

Additionally, I am grateful to have a home and access to food. It is easy to overlook these basic necessities, especially when many around the world live in poverty without adequate provisions. Although I must confess, there was that one incident when I forgot to pay the electric bill during a scorching summer, and our air conditioning was turned off on a Friday through the weekend… Oh boy!

Being an American, I am thankful for the liberties we enjoy. We have the freedom to express our thoughts openly, to explore the world, and to live our lives authentically. I am forever grateful to those who made sacrifices, often with their lives, limbs, and mental well-being, to secure our freedom.

Moreover, I am thankful that we are not plagued by rampant disease and that we have access to advanced physicians and medical treatments.

My friends, both near and far, hold a special place in my heart. I am grateful for their unwavering support and know that they would be there for my family and me in any circumstance.

Having had a fulfilling career for the past 23 years, I am thankful for the opportunities it has brought. I have met extraordinary and kind-hearted individuals along the way and have had the chance to explore different parts of the country through my travels. How fortunate I am.

I am also grateful for the resources we have to support our family and ourselves. We truly feel blessed.

Last but certainly not least, I am thankful for our compassionate and wise God. His presence gives me strength and provides unparalleled comfort in times of need.

--

--

Shelli Lynn
Gain Inspiration

I primarily write about mental illness.I hope to bring awareness to mental illness and the discrimination we often face. Thank you for sharing your articles.