Unshackling the Soul: The Irresistible Allure of Dreaming for Freedom

And The Power of Limericks to Drive and Inspire

Sam David Parker🌸
Gain Inspiration
3 min readOct 23, 2023

--

An early sun shines over a mountainous ridge, peeking over a stony field matted with yellow and purpoe wildflowers.
Photo by Damian Markutt on Unsplash

I’m losing my car in my dreams.

It signifies fear, so it seems.

When I lost my car,

I could not go far

In proliferating my schemes.

Sweeping during my sleep

Without much sensory input or the feelings derived from mobility, the mind goes wild during sleep. It tidies up the nursery, sweeping out cognitive detritus and dusting off the shelf of abandoned desires.

Then, upon awakening, the new awareness and demands of habituation in life erase the helter-skelter of our nocturnal adventures unless we keep a dream journal or are vividly impressed by something in the dream.

Dreams are a way for our subconscious mind to process and explore inner conflicts. Dreams use symbols and metaphors to represent our internal conflicts. For instance, I might dream of deciding at a cinema between a cold drink or a tub of buttered popcorn, symbolizing a conflict between two options or choices you’re facing in my waking life.

Emotional ballooning

My dreams round up my emotions during wakefulness and blow them up like a REM sleep balloon. Inner conflicts often evoke strong emotions. For example, when I dream about having a heated argument with someone, the scenario during sleep could reflect a conflict between your desire for harmony and your need to express your true feelings.

What’ll I do?

My dreams about not being able to find my car could mean a fear of losing my freedom or feeling trapped in certain situations. Cars often symbolize freedom and independence. If you can’t find your car in your dreams, it might link up to a desire for more autonomy and the need to break free from constraints or obligations.

Longing for freedom reflects my internal need for autonomy and making choices that align with my values and aspirations. I spent my career working with people with addictions, so losing my getaway car in dreams might also relate to the desire for personal and spiritual freedom.

Breaking free from the chains of addiction

is a noble aspiration, dovetailing with my goal of helping others concern themselves about addiction problems and the thistles one finds along life’s journey. Faith offers guidance and inspiration in finding freedom for me and others.

Embracing hobbies, like blogging and watching meaningful movies, is my way to explore and express my yearning for freedom.

I long to express freedom.

Sam is a retired drug counselor & keeps his Texas license current. An MA from UTA, he writes about addiction to substances, behaviors, and thistles of the soul.

--

--

Sam David Parker🌸
Gain Inspiration

I write about addiction to substances, behaviors, and thistles of the soul. Human rights are God given rights.