Mimic the ChromeOS Experience on Your Galaxy Tab

Ian Williams
GalacticApps
Published in
4 min readDec 12, 2023

--

Classic Dex mode on the Galaxy Tab S9+ (image by author)

Many of my readers may know me as a ChromeOS guy, but before I ever picked up a Chromebook, I was an Android/Galaxy user. Recently, I’ve moved a lot of my computing back over to the Samsung world, and GalacticApps is the place where I'll share some of my favorite Galaxy-specific tips to help you get the most out of your device.

Part of why Galaxy devices are the best way to experience Android (consider the gauntlet thrown Pixel-nerds) is DeX. It's a mode built into premium & mid-range Samsung tablets and phones that turns your mobile UI into a desktop.

I find it especially effective on Galaxy Tabs, since you can run it without any peripherals (no monitor or dock required!), and I want to show you how it can be used in place of the basic ChromeOS experience.

Note: All of my suggestions are based on “Classic” DeX and not the new DeX mode found only in One UI 6. If you just got One UI 6 installed on your tablet, I'd recommend switching from the new Dex mode unless your needs are light enough that it won't get in the way. You can switch to Classic mode by long-pressing the "DeX" option in the quick settings panel.

With that out of the way, let's get on with it.

Obviously, ChromeOS is a web-first environment where Galaxy Tabs focus on Android applications. But…

--

--

Ian Williams
GalacticApps

Storytelling, whether through the written word or the human voice, has always held a special place in my heart. My subjects include Tech, History, and Cinema.