Leave no Footprint; Travel in Style

Galapagos Nature Guide
Nature Interpreter
Published in
7 min readJun 10, 2016

Why I built a sustainable ecotourism destination in Galapagos

I am Harry Jimenez and this publication, Nature Interpreter, is the sum and continuation of my experiences as a third-generation Galapagueño, guide certified by the Galapagos National Park Service, eco-hotel owner, dedicated naturalist, committed scientist and ecologist, photographer, scuba diver and lover of the Galapagos Islands. As a child I was dubbed “loco Harry” by my family and friends, a nickname that continues to this day. Why? At least in part because I am undaunted by anything and will rise to any challenge.

It didn’t take long for me to be part of the Galapagos National Park Service’s initiative to encourage more land-based, rather than cruise-based, travel for Galapagos tourists. As I saw it, I had no alternative but to accept this new tourism model as a challenge. So, in 2011, I began the project of building a sustainable eco-hotel in the same private enclave as my home on San Cristobal Island. A few years later, the hotel has come to fruition, is a preferred destination on San Cristobal Island, has won many awards and is designated as an ecotourism destination.

My Vision

For many years, I had a vision of sharing my love of Galapagos by introducing those with a sense of adventure, a thirst for learning, a commitment to ecological responsibility and conservation and the penchant for ethical travel to the land once called Islas Encantadas and that I call Paradise. The culmination and physical manifestation of my dream is Galapagos Eco Friendly, a hotel located in the same gated private enclave as my family’s home high on a hill overlooking the harbor of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno and the Pacific Ocean.

Responsible ecotourism has its basis in sharing the culture of the host country. I believe that there is no better way to promote and share our cultural heritage than to open our land, our experiences and our way of life to guests from around the world.

My personal dedication to the environment and sustainability has its roots in my childhood and the changes in the islands that I personally have experienced. I grew up amidst the rich land and sea life offered in Galapagos. Since my childhood, I’ve noticed the decline in the wild Giant Tortoise population, number of flamingos on Floreana and penguin families. I’ve seen mockingbirds that have died from eating detritus left by careless travelers on our beaches. I’ve lately been reading about a fear that our penguin families may become endangered. I’ve followed, studied and taught about the scientific developments that prove evolution is continuing always in Galapagos just as Charles Darwin explained, but also in ways he never imagined because of human intervention, both positive and negative.

These observations have had a profound impact on me. I dedicated myself to preserving the uniqueness and integrity of the Galapagos Islands in part because I want visitors to come to Galapagos and be immersed in the very same wonders that have always existed for me.

The result is the hotel that I built on San Cristobal Island, Galapagos Eco Friendly. Its popularity and the guests that we attract have met and even exceeded my expectations.

Hotel Recognition

We have been certified as an eco-friendly green destination by the Galapagos Minister of Tourism. On TripAdvisor we are the Number One bed and breakfast in San Cristobal and have been awarded both a Certificate of Excellence and Travelers’ Choice Award every year since 2013. We also hold Platinum Level Green Leader Credentials and Certification because of our sound commitment to ecology.

My Background

This is me as a National Park Guide instructing my group on Punta Pitt

I have lived in San Cristobal all of my life and I am a third generation Galapagueño. My earliest memories are of waking up in the morning to mockingbirds and finches. I played with iguanas and lava lizards in the garden and saw Giant Galapagos tortoises on the way to school each day. Early memories include swimming with sea lions and dolphins and climbing volcanoes. I’ve lived in tents for months on end studying the habits of blue footed boobies and for more than 20 years have spent most of my time as a Galapagos National Park Guide learning and teaching about all of our islands, marine and land flora and fauna. I can honestly say that I have explored just about every accessible nook and cranny of Galapagos.

Evolution and Charles Darwin’s legacy were taught to me from the youngest age. I was, and continue to be, an adventuresome person. As a child, each day was an adventure on the land and in the water. I swam and dove with sea lion and huge manta rays, learned about blue footed boobies and developed a passion for nature. It was quite different in Galapagos just a few decades ago, before the Galapagos National Park Service applied itself to assuring that our beautiful and unique environment is carefully and systematically protected from invasive species and other influences that would impact the delicate natural balance within the Galapagos Land and Marine Reserves.

But, still each day I continue to dedicate myself to the environment and sustaining the Galapagos Islands. I am an experience naturalist certified by the Galapagos National Park Service and am regularly employed as the guide on some of the most luxurious cruise ships in Galapagos.

Ecotourism and Sustainability

I built the hotel myself. This is a photo of the frame of the hotel and the insulation materials — old used containers that were reused to insulate and provide sound protection. All materials were, to the extent viable, locally harvested.

My focus for Galapagos Eco Friendly is preservation, conservation and responsible travel. Our guests are provided with accommodations that give them the chance to taste and appreciate our local culture, but sacrifice nothing of comfort or service. Our rooms are filled with locally made furnishings, respect the design décor of Galapagos and are decorated with photographs that I have taken on my personal journeys throughout the islands.

Our guests are served breakfast in an open air dining room with magnificent vistas of the town, harbor and Pacific Ocean

Each morning my wife Lucrecia serves a hearty breakfast in our dining room at the top of the hill overlooking the harbor at Puerto Baquerizo Moreno and the Pacific Ocean. She includes local delicacies and locally-grown produce. Even our coffee comes from a coffee plantation on San Cristobal Island.

Travel the Galapagos with Galapagos Eco Friendly as Your Home Base

I built Galapagos Eco Friendly to be the choice for all thoughtful Galapagos visitors, whether they visit before or after time on a cruise ship or they plan a land-based stay. At the hotel, guests relax, swim, are introduced to our local culture and have private moments to contemplate and absorb the stunning sites and remarkable vistas that you are exposed to during each day of their stay.

Galapagos Eco Friendly is the perfect home base for day trips around the Eastern Galapagos Islands. I help plan daily excursions from the hotel, talking to all of our guests about their interests. Then, I make the best customized arrangements to fit each person’s desires and time frame.

To learn more about all of the wonderful visitor sites on and near San Cristobal, read more stories found in Nature Interpreter or visit the hotel’s website at www.galapagosecofriendly.net

Hotel Services

The hotel is intended to be a respite before and after stimulating but sometimes tiring visits to the marvelous vistas and breathtaking scenery off the coast of San Cristobal. During your breakfast you’ll experience the hotel’s stunning ocean view and you will be treated to very comfortable and fully appointed rooms with top tier amenities and services.

The gardens include beautiful plant life endemic to the Galápagos Islands. Standard amenities include airport and dock pick-up and delivery, laundry service, breakfast, filtered water, bikes for those who want to ride through the neighborhood and much more. High end service is a primary consideration at Galapagos Eco Friendly.

Please contact me if you would like more information about Galapagos Eco Friendly. We’d be honored to make you our guests.

Harry Jiménez, Owner and General Manager
Galapagos Eco Friendly
Av. 12 de Febrero y Av. J Roldo
San Cristobal Island
Galapagos, Ecuador SCY
Reservations: 593 052 520 124
Email: info@galapagosecolodge.net

--

--

Galapagos Nature Guide
Nature Interpreter

Harry Jimenez, Galapagos National Park guide, owner of Galapagos Eco Friendly Hotel and inspired photographer, writes of Galapagos travel, nature & ecotourism.