Critical Play: Katamari Damancy & Temple Run

Alyssa Romanos
Game Design Fundamentals
2 min readMay 22, 2020

On racing games.

When I saw this game on the list for Critical Play, I was immediately sent back to my childhood. I used to play Katamari Damancy for the Playstation2 all the time as a child. It was one of my favorite games, seeing the colorful characters, the lively music, and all of the cute objects that I could add to my katamari.

A katamari is a magical ball that can roll over a variety of objects and have them stick to it. The katamari builds up, and at each level, the Prince has to build the katamari up to a particular dimension to pass each level. Personally, I feel that this game is beautifully themed. The different interactions between puzzles between the Prince and the King of All Cosmos are so delightful. I think what makes this game play experience so enjoyable is the fact that players are truly immersed and invested in the game space. The game itself is so whimsical and unlike anything I’ve ever played before, which is enough to keep me engaged.

Furthermore, the objective of the game is quite simple — to roll around and grow your katamari. The controls are easy to understand and figure out, making player onboarding really quick. There’s no confusion about the way the game works, and I think this contrast between the ease of gameplay and the silly and interesting storyline going on is part of what makes this game so charming.

The other game I played, which I’ve played a bunch in the past, was Temple Run. Temple Run was an iconic game a few years back — everyone was playing it, and no one would stop playing it. The fun of this game was definitely in the ease of controls, but also in the solid theming of the game. You play as an explorer seeking to get an idol from a temple, and the player must run through the temple. There are different coins that you can collect, and the environment is the inside of the temple, composed of stones, water, trees, and different totem poles. This game’s story and theme fit together nicely, and it adds to this feeling of suspense or pressure to get to the idol and escape the temple safely.

--

--