Mind Map: Narrative Architecture

June Burkle
Game Design Fundamentals
2 min readMay 4, 2020

Mind Map

Spatial Storytelling & Evocative Spaces: Earthbound

I’ve been playing this game a little more recently and if there are any words to describe it one might be just “unpredictable.” Every new map is strange and colorful in its own respect, and I’ve really been enjoying the fact that I can defeat aliens, sentient plants, monster rats, zombies, ghosts, cult members, puppets, and just regular annoying people all in the same game.

Enacting Stories: Coming Out Simulator

Since you’re basically clicking through different scenarios to unfold the entire story, it’s a pretty textbook case of enacting (there really isn’t any other mechanic).

Embedded Narratives: Skyrim

Since I don’t really play very many games where this is a major part of story (mystery, post-apocalyptic, etc) I figured I would go with something also pretty textbook. I haven’t even played Skyrim, but I know for a fact that you can find and collect books, of which there are actual literal novel series built into the game.

Emergent Narratives: Minecraft

Minecraft technically has an ultimate goal, but I feel like most of the time that’s not really what everyone is striving for. I think this category best describes a lot of “simulation” type games and with the way that I personally play Minecraft (just going exploring and mining in order to build an excessively pretty house and map the area) falls into emergent narratives.

--

--