Playtesting Checklist

Katherine Z Liu
Game Design Fundamentals
2 min readMay 14, 2020

Unfortunately it is quite limited since we are stuck indoors but whatever

Why?

  1. Do men and women play my game differently?
  2. Do kids like my game better than adults?
  3. Do people, playing as the villain, tend to help the hero or go against the hero in the first level?
  4. Is the time limit for the levels too short?
  5. Is the time limit for the levels too long?
  6. Should there even be a time limit for levels?
  7. Do people who play the Villain ending realize that there is an alternate ending where you can side with the Hero?
  8. Do people who play the Hero ending first restart and play the Villain ending?
  9. Do people try to find all the endings?
  10. What games does our game remind other people of?
  11. Are people more invested in either the story or the gameplay?
  12. Are players ever confused?
  13. Are players ever frustrated?
  14. Do players understand how to play?
  15. Is the story interesting?
  16. Which parts of the game are most fun?
  17. Which parts of the game are least fun?
  18. Not play-testing, but how intuitive is the UI to use?

Who?

  1. Developers
  2. Friends and family — hopefully they can be our Tissue Testers

Where?

  1. Family: At the playtester’s home
  2. Developers and Friends: On the Internet only. Will send them a link to download the game

How?

  1. For family members, I’ll watch them play because I think they will get bored and stop playing if I’m not there. For friends, I’ll ask them to voice call/screenshare while they are playing my game so I can get a live reaction and see their screen in realtime.
  2. Since I want to watch my testers play, in early stages I will preface things by saying, “I know our game has many problems, so please help me identify them.” Hopefully, our game will have enough in-game directions that I do not need to say anything about the game beforehand.
  3. I’ll ask testers to think aloud while they are playing.
  4. Since our game will mostly be tested by friends and family, we should give them interviews since they probably would be comfortable with that, and interviews can provide more information than surveys. We just need to ask them all the same questions in addition to personalized questions based on how they played.

--

--