Pokémon Legends: Arceus is a Game About Balance

A review of Game Freak’s newest

Logan Noble
Game Loot

--

Photo credit: taken from my playthrough

I’m a little bit obsessed with Pokémon Legends: Arceus.

(There is my review in nine words. Is that enough? I suppose not. Let’s talk about what I believe to be this game’s theme: balance.)

Whether Game Freak intended to give Pokémon Legends: Arceus an overarching theme, I can see it written large in the early hours of the game. I’m about seven hours in, having defeated the first boss and starting to relish so much of Legends’ refreshing gameplay.

This is the biggest shake-up that we’ve seen since the mainline Pokémon games made the move to 3D. Legends is a prequel, taking place in the olden times. The wilds of this world are still very unsettled, and the humans of Hisui (this game’s familiar region) are learning to live with Pokémon.

Field Balance

Photo credit: taken from my playthrough

The main gameplay loop concerns you heading into the field and catching, battling, and running away from aggressive Pokemon. You head out with a team and a satchel filled with homemade Poke Balls. Catching is different this time around: you can capture the Pokemon…

--

--

Logan Noble
Game Loot

Logan Noble (@logannobleauthor) is a freelance video game writer and horror fiction author. Editor of Game Loot. For more, check logannobleauthor.com.