The Curse of the Gaming Backlog

And why it shouldn’t be that way

Logan Noble
Game Loot
4 min readMar 30, 2020

--

Photo credit: Tango Softworks/Bethesda Softworks

If you’ve been gaming for awhile, you should be at least somewhat familiar with the idea of the ‘Backlog’. The realities of adult life mean that we never have enough time to play the video games that release. You miss a game here and there and make a vow to get to them eventually. All those games start to pile up and before you know it, you have a backlog.

I just want to say: this may be one of the biggest first world problems ever conceived. But still! Studios and developers work hard to produce fantastic products, and I want to experience the joys of their hard-earned efforts. Besides, with the state of everything going on in the world right now, I can’t think of a better time to take a look at all of the games I’ve picked up in sales or otherwise.

Ten feet tall and 60 hours plus

Photo credit: CD Projekt Red

Where do I start with the backlog? Let’s go big! Most AAA titles these days take a little (lot) of time to get through. With the tendency to feature massive open worlds and/or sprawling stories, it makes sense that these games might hang out in my backlog for awhile. I’m talking about hulking JRPGs like Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch (on Switch), Ni No Kuni 2: Revenant Kingdom and Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age. On the less Japanese side is The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, which I’m currently enjoying like a exquisite slime-covered bottle of wine. This game is a masterpiece that I’m going to take my time with. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild and Super Mario Odyssey have also been shaming me since I got my Switch. Sorry guys! I’m getting there.

AND I can’t forget about Horizon: Zero Dawn, Shadow of the Colossus, and Persona 5, three PlayStation games I’ve owned since I picked up my PS4 two years ago.

Cool Indies

Photo credit: Campo Santo

On the other side of those larger than life games, we have the indie games. Not as long, but certainly as fantastic. Story driven games like Tacoma, Thimbleweed Park, and Night in the Woods. Walking sims like What Remains of Edith Finch and Firewatch belong here as well.

Spooks and Oldies

Photo credit: 4A Games/Deep Silver

Last category! Spooks and oldies! With my new Retro Coin series, I’ve sought out some cool old games to write about. Batman: Arkham Origins (my current game along with Witcher 3 and Animal Crossing), Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, Earthbound, Alan Wake, Grim Fandango, and Final Fantasy VII. And for spooks I have The Evil Within 2, Amnesia Collection, Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth, Soma, and Metro: Exodus. Many of those will probably have to wait till October, but still.

Part Deux

Here’s the real purpose of this article. I hope this exhaustive list doesn’t make me sound like a tool. I am thankful to have a good job and disposable income. I know not everyone is as blessed. Growing up, I probably got one full price game every year, and I played it till the wheels fell off.

But because of our culture’s obsession with missing out, we often feel bad if we don’t get to watch the next big movie, video game, or TV show. I’m not sure why this happens, but I’m over it. The truth of it is: the backlog is not a curse. It’s an opportunity. So I’m making a pledge: I’m going to play what I have here, and I’m not going to feel guilty for waiting a little while to play whatever new game drops. The backlog is a blessing.

I’m going to treat it like one.

--

--

Logan Noble
Game Loot

Logan Noble (@logannobleauthor) is a freelance video game writer and horror fiction author. Editor of Game Loot. For more, check logannobleauthor.com.