Where am I at for 2020’s game releases?

So many games, so little time. So what do I play?

Logan Noble
Game Loot
7 min readSep 7, 2020

--

Photo credit: Ubisoft

We are headed into game release season. The rest of the year is a barrage of titles being dropped within a few weeks of each other. It’s been this way for many years, but 2020 is special because we have a new console generation waiting for us during these cold holiday months.

So what will I be picking up? I love games, and I do my best to experience as many of them as as I can. Because I am just a mere mortal, I can’t play everything. I don’t have the time and I certainly don’t have the cash. So how do I choose? How do you choose? Let’s talk it through a bit. I’m hoping that seeing some of my thought processes on your screen can help us both be better gamers. Hmm. Time for some verdicts…

Marvel’s Avengers

September 4th

Photo credit: Square Enix

This, along with the Tony Hawk remaster, were released last Friday. I’ve been looking forward to this game for many months. It’s from a studio I respect and features an IP that I can’t help but love. But as more and more information came out, I started to worry a bit. This game looks fine. That’s it though. The campaign looks interesting, but early reviews for this game have been mixed to say the least.

So where am I with Marvel’s The Avengers? I hate that this is meant to be a games as a service. I hate that it has battle passes and cheap loot systems. I want this to be a story driven superhero game, but it looks like we only have a Frankenstein monster of a game instead. But I’m still here for it. Some of my friends on Twitter are enjoying it, and this very well may be the kind of game I need after wrapping up my Persona 5 Royal play through.

Verdict : Buy.

Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1 + 2

September 4th

Photo credit: Activision

I played the Tony Hawk games as a kid. I was never very good at them, but they were a blast to play. Activision has done a good thing and gave us a remastered game that has kickflipped the first two titles onto one disc.

If I had more time and this year wasn’t so packed already, this would be a snap buy. Maybe sometime next year the right sale will come along?

Verdict: Nope.

Kingdoms of Amalur: Re-Reckoning

September 8th

Photo credit: THQ Nordic

I don’t have much to say about this one. I played Kingdoms back in the day and wasn’t impressed. I know this game has tons of fans, so I’m glad it’s getting a remaster. But this one isn’t for me.

Verdict: Nope.

Spelunky 2

September 15th

Photo credit: BitWorks

I’ve heard the first Spelunky cited as many people’s favorite game of all time. I own the title but I’ve never gotten around to playing it. It’s in my Backlog, just like so many other things. If I eventually get around to it, maybe I’ll pick this up. But as of now…

Verdict: Nope.

Super Mario 3D All-Stars

September 18th

Photo credit: Nintendo

I love that this game is happening. Three Nintendo titles, each as awesome as the last. Sunshine holds a special place in my heart (it was my first Mario 3D title), and I’d love to play 64 and Galaxy as well.

Here’s the thing: Nintendo is limiting this game’s release. It will be available in September, but then it will go missing until March of next year. That includes digital and physical. Baffling. Idiotic. I love you Nintendo, but you a much of idiots. Unfortunately, I don’t have the time or money to grab this. Maybe around the holidays I’ll grab it?

Verdict: Nope.

Crash Bandicoot 4: It’s About Time

October 2nd

Photo credit: Activision

More Crash Bandicoot! This has been a dream of mine for many years. This franchise has been in my life for a long time. The recent remaster of the first three games was a perfect reminder of how incredible this crazy (crash) bandicoot is. With all the features promised, this is a snap buy.

Verdict: 150% Buy.

Amnesia: Rebirth

October 20th

Photo credit: Frictional Games

Look: I’m a horror writer, but I’m also afraid of horror video games. I’ve played as much of the Amnesia games that I can handle. This trailer premiered after I completed this list, but the excellent footage and atmosphere showed by this game have me ready to be hurt (scared) all over again. October is nearly here!

Verdict: 150% Buy.

Shin Megami Tensei III: Nocturne HD Remaster

October 29th

Photo credit: Atlus

In a year of remasters, Shin Megami Tensei III may be one of my most anticipated. I’ve played the last couple games on 3DS, and this will tide me over under the next title releases on Switch.

We don’t know much about this game, but if the remaster is half-decent, this will be a perfect horror RPG for October.

Verdict: 150% Buy.

Watch Dogs: Legion

October 29th

Photo credit: Ubisoft

I’ve never played a Watch Dogs game, but I’ve always been fascinated by them. They’ve just never really drug me in. Maybe it’s the setting, maybe it’s the gameplay. But a close-to-next gen Watch Dogs game has me intrigued. Just not $60 intrigued.

Verdict: Nope.

The Dark Pictures Anthology: Little Hope

October 30th

Photo credit: Bandai Namco Entertainment

Horror game! Until Dawn was very much my jam, but I haven’t gotten around to the newer titles under The Dark Pictures Anthology umbrella. I’d love to see a collection once they’ve wrapped up, but for now I just don’t have the time.

Verdict: Nope.

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla

November 17th

Photo credit: Ubisoft

Viking Assassin’s Creed! Next gen Assassin’s Creed! Origins and Odyssey are two of my favorite action RPGs ever, so seeing all the improvements that are coming into this new title have me pumped up. I’m thrilled for this.

Verdict: 150% buy.

Cyberpunk 2077

November 19th

Photo credit: CD Projekt Red

Cyber-punk gun to my head: if I could only buy one game in 2020, it would be Cyberpunk 2077. CD Projekt Red’s long gestating RPG will be a game for the ages. I haven’t been this excited for a title in a long time.

Verdict: Pre-order pick up as soon as possible 150% Buy!

Spider-Man: Miles Morales

Holiday 2020

Photo credit: Insomniac Games

We are firmly in next gen with Spider-Man: Miles Morales. With word coming down that Miles Morales isn’t a full title, I assume some people are upset. Not me. I can’t think of a better way to experience my PS5 for the first time than in an Insomniac Game.

Verdict: 150% Buy.

Yakuza: Like a Dragon

Holiday 2020

Photo credit: Sega

Yakuza turn-based RPG? Sure. Why not.

However; this game being released in this window does not do it favors. Sorry guys.

Verdict: Nope.

Ratchet and Clank: A Rift Apart

Holiday 2020

Photo credit: Sony

I have never played a Ratchet and Clank title. I know, I know. I’m a monster.

That being said; the PS4 Ratchet and Clank is at the top of my Backlog. The trailer for this game made my jaw drop. It looks like electric chaos, and I desperately want to join this fan base and ride the wave of excitement with the PS5 launch.

Verdict: Buy.

This is just a snapshot of the games coming out. I scoured several places to get this list together, but I’m sure I missed out on countless indie titles and games that don’t quite have a concrete release date. I think that the early months of 2021 are going to be gaming heaven.

And I’ll be ready, controller charged and a smile on my face.

--

--

Logan Noble
Game Loot

Logan Noble (@logannobleauthor) is a freelance video game writer and horror fiction author. Editor of Game Loot. For more, check logannobleauthor.com.