Learning on the Job

Jessica Weisz
3 min readJan 11, 2016
Wikimedia Commons

When I left corporate and joined a startup, one of the things I was excited about was the chance to learn. I would get hands experience in building a business. I could study the aftermath of the management decisions we’d make, and see which turned out to be stupid and why.

That really appealed to my inner problem solver. I was pumped.

A few years in, I’ve decided to document what I’ve learned on a weekly basis. Here’s why:

  1. I’ll get better insights. Up until now, I’ve noted observations only in my own head or shared them in a casual chat. By dedicating time to writing them out I’ll solidify the thoughts, likely pushing them even further and open them up for a more thorough discussion (hopefully with some help from your comments too!)
  2. I’ll get more insights. Disciplining myself to do this on a weekly basis will mean I’ll be on the lookout for insights each day. I’ve been writing in my personal journal but not at the same frequency, nor at the same depth (see reason #1).

And here’s my inaugural lesson from start-up school. It’s a bit meta but probably the best place to start.

When I stopped learning, I stopped being good at my job

I’m a big believer that you have to be passionate about what you do to be successful. Any biography of an accomplished individual will back that up.

Learning is a big part of what I’m passionate about. It doesn’t really matter the challenge that I face. It is the process of working my way through it that gives me satisfaction. (Hence, I’ve started this project)

The last few months have presented many challenges: tough strategic decisions on where we take the product, dealing with team dynamic and some big client demands.

What happened is that I got frustrated with the process and disappointed with certain outcomes.

I expected myself to be a master in the situation and forgot I am, and will forever be, an apprentice.

What instantly relaxed me was when I reminded myself this is a learning experience. By reframing the situation, I could focus on the excitement of going to school to learn as opposed to dreading the marks I would get at the end of the semester.

And because I can appreciate the challenges I face, I am actually handling them better. I ask better questions to fully understand what is going on. I am more open to trying alternative approaches. I am calmer when crisis arises. Most importantly, I am easier on myself and others when things go badly.

Net-net: Learning = fun = success.

What do you think? How do you learn on the job?

My goal is to share my learnings at start-up school each week. Not sure where this will lead but at least it’s going somewhere. You can follow me on Twitter for updates. https://twitter.com/Jess_at_SoapBox

--

--