GO FINDS SOUTH CAROLINA TO BE THE RIGHT FIT, ON AND OFF THE LINKS

Gamecock Athletics
Forever To Thee

--

Lois Kaye Go may be in her first year at South Carolina, but the sophomore transfer is already making an impact. After earning All-ACC honors at Boston College as a freshman and leading the team in stroke average, the Cebu City, Philippines, native felt like she needed more to help her achieve her goal of becoming a professional golfer, and South Carolina became the right fit, for more than just golf.

“I love my teammates,” Go said. “Being from different parts of the world, we can connect on so many different levels. I know there are cultural differences, but we’re really accepting of each other, and they were all really welcoming of me when I arrived. I thought it would be hard because we were accustomed to different cultures, but the diversity brings us closer, and we understand each other more. It’s really cool.”

Go added that she felt an immediate connection with the school and head coach Kalen Anderson and associate head coach Puggy Blackmon.

“I just felt that this was the best fit for me in terms of my goals, including turning professional after I graduate,” Go said. “I felt like this was the best school to prepare me to do that and put me on the right track to chase my dream.

“The biggest thing I’ve learned from Kalen and Puggy is the work ethic. We work a lot of short game and scoring game. That’s not something I’m used to, but I think that it’s a better way of practicing because I get to work on my long game and my short game. Improving my short game will really help me get lower scores and lower scoring average.”

So far, so good for Go, who ranks second among the Gamecocks with a 72.0 stroke average this fall, and she has finished par or better in three out of four events for South Carolina. Her 210 (-6) at the 2017 Tar Heel Invitational marked the 14th-best 54-hole score by a Gamecock ever and was the second-best total by a South Carolina sophomore.

“I’m working a lot on my swing,” Go said. “I don’t try to emulate someone else’s though. I think everyone has some unique aspect of their game, and you should develop that.”

Go began playing golf at the age of five, and her family is no stranger to success with her older brother, Lloyd Jefferson Go, now playing professionally after playing collegiately at Seton hall. She was first exposed to American culture when she would come to the U.S. to play in tournaments before she went to college, but she still had to transition to being far from home when she came to school.

“Last year was a little bit of a transition in being independent and being away from my friends and family,” Go said. “It turned out well. The biggest difference here in South Carolina is obviously the weather. That makes it much better so I can practice every day. The facilities that are available for the team are just amazing so you can work on all areas of your game. They’re more convenient and more accessible.

“We definitely practice a lot more here. I’ve been able to practice more in every aspect, especially in the short game. Having the new practice facility near campus is so much more convenient. It’s an amazing facility.”

Aside from family and friends, the biggest thing she misses about home is the food.

“It’s a lot different here,” Go chuckled. “Filipino food has a lot more flavor in each bite. That’s the biggest difference. I actually do like sweet tea, but I like maybe ¾ sweet tea and ¼ unsweet. That’s my thing.”

For the Gamecocks, her “thing” so far has been playing good golf, and she’s glad she found a new home to pursue her dreams.

“I just like playing with my friends and the challenge of playing,” Go said. “It can be frustrating, but I just love playing the game, competing, and always trying to be the best I can be. My goal for this year is to be consistent.”

--

--

Gamecock Athletics
Forever To Thee

The official Twitter of University of South Carolina Athletics | Use hashtag #Gamecocks | More Accounts: http://GamecocksOnline.com/Connect