The Gameful Philosophy of Life

… And How We Are All Experimental Philosophers

Victoria Ichizli-Bartels
Gameful Life

--

Photo by Andrey Metelev on Unsplash

When speaking about living gamefully, you and I are being at least slightly philosophical. Especially if we view philosophy as:

“pursuit of wisdom” or

“the most basic beliefs, concepts, and attitudes of an individual or group”

Merriam-Webster

As a side note, I would like to emphasize that I am not a philosophy scholar. I did a general course on philosophy during my early studies at the Technical University in Chisinau, Moldova, the first two years of which were when Moldova was a part of the former Soviet Union. I wasn’t interested in philosophy then, being eager to pass the test and thinking of it as an unnecessary chore.

But now I recognize that we are all philosophers, what I call experimental philosophers, building our views on life and worlds inside and outside us. And we build those views while we experience, research, and discover the worlds around and inside us, starting with our childhood, and don’t stop doing so for as long as we live.

How should you proceed when approaching life gamefully? Here is a somewhat indirect answer to that.

Life flows. It has a structure, like in games, but there is also flow.

--

--

Victoria Ichizli-Bartels
Gameful Life

Life gamer, life coach, author, engineer; originator of Self-Gamification — an art of turning life into fun games → optimistwriter.com