The “Instead Of” Game: The Briefest but Probably the Most Crucial of All Self-Motivational Games

An honest, kind, helpful, and fun approach to switching from upsets to joy and well-being

Victoria Ichizli-Bartels
Gameful Life

--

I love turning my life and anything that composes it into fun games. I call the result of this process a self-motivational game.

My newest self-motivational game design is the “Instead Of” Game or simply Instead Game. I played it for the first time on November 6, 2021.

After playing the game for a little over a week, I realized something exciting and a little scary. Even if the rounds of this game are probably the shortest of all the self-motivational I have designed and played so far and probably would ever design and play, it might be one of the most significant and with the most dramatic outcome every day.

Here is what it is about and how I play it.

How I play the Instead Of Game

--

--

Victoria Ichizli-Bartels
Gameful Life

Life gamer, life coach, author, engineer; originator of Self-Gamification — an art of turning life into fun games → optimistwriter.com