What makes a Gamelit story?

I’ll be going over some details about that here…

--

Photo by Simon Hattinga Verschure on Unsplash

Well, this was a bust… I completely forgot that I was supposed to write this over a third of a year ago. I completely fail at sticking to deadlines I impose on myself. What am I supposed to do with myself, now?

…meh. I’ll get over it eventually. For now, let’s get back on track, meaning… let’s talk about the subject at hand.

So, as this is the first day of discussing this, I’ll begin with the obvious… what makes a Gamelit story is that it’s set in a game-like world. The same can be said of LitRPGs, but that’s a different topic for a different time. To steer this towards the right topic, however, there are a few key differences between Gamelit and LitRPG stories. The first of these differences is that Gamelit is comprised of worlds that follow the logic of a video game, but without things like menus that pop up out of nowhere when called for. Another difference is that there are hardly any important numbers to keep track of in a Gamelit.

An example of a Gamelit story is “Ready Player One” and the fact that most of the story is set in an online game. However, as I’m not factually aware of all the details behind that story, I will not comment any further about why I feel it’s a Gamelit. Suffice it to say, I’m more than 50% sure that it’s a…

--

--

Samuel Kenneth Kauffman
Dungeons and Gamelit and LitRPG, Ahoy!

Top Writer LitRPG, Choose Your Own Adventure, and Camp NaNo. Email address not available any longer.