Puzzle Combat vs. Empires & Puzzles

Vasavadatta
GameTalk
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2019

or, a “Merge Magic vs. Merge Dragons” redux

Small Giant Games has soft launched a new match 3 RPG called Puzzle Combat. And looking at its PlayStore art caused major throwback to the post I just wrote on clones:

I like that even the dragon and the helicopter match

The top 2 reviews on Play Store for Puzzle Combat are, well, talking about E&P:

It hasn’t been soft launched in India, of course. Nobody in their right minds (who isn’t Indian or Chinese) would do that. If I remember correctly, E&P didn’t event launch in India at the same time as the west.

But I digress.

I wanted to see for myself, which of the two of my postulates held here? Since the game wasn’t available for me to play and I wasn’t in the mood to download an apk from a sketchy website, I decided to base my opinions about it from youtube videos like this one.

This is super similar to E&P :

To recap, the two main reasons for a reskin are:

  1. Reaching new audiences
  2. Keeping users within the developer’s ecosystem

Puzzle Combat is clearly part of the latter group.Which means that its primary aim is to keep E&P players in the same ecosystem, and not go off to another one of the many, many match-3 RPGs out there.

What is interesting though, is that both Gram and Small Giant are under of the Zynga umbrella.

That is all, just wanted to make a note of this game too because it is such a great example of a reskin.

--

--