Brothers in arms

Anato Finnstark’s Illustrations Grace Dozens of Magic the Gathering Cards

Illustrations like Anato’s clearly show a love affair with their favorite themes and media like Elden Ring and DUNE

Mike Haggerty
Published in
2 min readAug 3, 2022

--

Anato Finnstark is an independent illustrator, freelancing across a wide spectrum of media but mainly focusing on media like TCGs, Album covers for studios and concept art for animated media. She has a large collection of work for Magic the Gathering, which seems to be the go to for all the illustrators I explore for this series so I might have a bias I need to address there. She has done work for the Materia Collective, a video game music studio and Unit Image, a studio creating awesome cinematics and films.

The style that Anato creates can be described as “Epic” on every level of the world. Using procreate and other tools, she crafts beautiful paintings, often evoking a retro science fiction feel while maintaining a more contemporary look and feel through their shape language and lighting choices. Some of my favorite pieces by Anato are the ones that feel more like a mural or carving that should be found sprawling massively in cyclopean style across some wall or ceiling.

Admonition Angel : Magic the gathering

I won’t lie, I kind of fell in love with their work as soon as I saw it and have been just biding my time until I could write about it. There is just such an epic feeling dynamism to the way the characters are posed, lit and the backdrops arranged for every piece I see that its hard to not just let myself be absorbed into looking at them for hours. Anato definitely has work that I will be purchasing for myself as prints, for sure. Hopefully you find their portfolio as entrancing as I did, you can explore more with the links below!

Don’t forget their Portfolio!

Follow them on Twitter.

Connect Professionally on LinkedIn.

Grab some cool metal prints on Displate.

Get some regular prints at Redbubble.

“Born from the void” ( Melina from Elden-Ring )
GOM JABBAR ( DUNE/part 1 )

--

--