“Happy to see ya back, pal!” (Velociraptor JP).

Caio Fantini’s Art is Taking Shape

Sharp Models with a Smart Attention to Detail

--

Shipwrecks, Horses, and Dinosaurs: Four things that never failed to spark my interest as a child. I was exploring the old bookshelves at my parent’s house on Pet-Anxiety-and-Run-Away-from-Home Day, and I had a chance to remind myself of some of the things I was most curious about as a kid. There’s an entire book dedicated to the Titanic and other ship-sinking's, an actual tome of horse varieties and anatomy, and a wide variety of illustrated dinosaur books. I say remind myself, but it’s not like I’ve forgotten things I was interested in, more that most of those things have evolved with me over time. Rather than rereading what happened to the Titanic again, I’ve graduated to listening to Brick Immortar videos and learning the about the regulations and investigations related to maritime disasters. My feed often contains videos about horses doing things like digging in the bottom of their water basins until they are ruined. As for dinosaurs, “This game has dinosaurs,” is a selling point I’m fairly certain all my friends know they can use against me if they need to convince me to try a new title.

Likelihood I’ll play is directly proportional to number of possible dinosaurs (Spectrovenator).

Caio Fantini is a character artist skilled at creating detailed 3d-models and 2d designs. His bio lists him currently as Senior Character Artist at Prime 1 Studios, and that section of his portfolio contains more than just dinosaurs. Superheroes, movie monsters, and video games characters alike are rendered in intense detail, fit for production as scale models. There just so happens to be some beautiful dinosaurs in there too. Fantini also has some personal 3d and 2d work in his portfolio that shows off his skills. There’s a ton of cool stuff in there.

We were all looking at the mohawk, right? (Steampunk Girl).

Obviously, I’m partial to the dinosaurs, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I might focus on collaborative builds for the 1/15th scale models of the Tyrannasaurus Rex or Carnotaurus, right? Or, this video that shows the Mosasaur model in all of it’s glorious 360 degrees? I wouldn’t feel bad pointing people towards any of those, but I think I’d be doing a disservice to not point out some of Fantini’s non-dinosaur projects for those that are less inclined to enjoy scaly, prehistoric turkeys. I’d recommend this Hellboy-themed, Carlos Huante-inspired sculpt, which is jam packed full of charming details and cool little touches. It just looks slick and polished and really captures the movement of the character. I’ll put an image below, but the full post has so many angles and a variety of weapons. It’s worth a browse, without a doubt.

Imagine this outfit on not-Hellboy (Hellboy).

It isn’t possible to control everything that happens in life. Choosing to be vulnerable around others isn’t weakness, it’s a show of trust. Cars are not a good investment. It’s probably a good idea to relearn what all the blend modes do if you forget. Or don’t, just use them however you want. Just some reminders.

Grizzly bear claws are typically between two to four inches long (bear).
Studies show that T-rexes had lips (T-rex d&d).

Check out Fantini’s Artstation here!

Or browse Instagram or the Prime 1 Studio’s collection!

--

--

Amy Meszko
GameTextures

I sound angrier than I actually am. BA in English/Language Arts. Shout out to my mom, who got me into drawing so she could get things done.