This could be on a high-fashion runway (Exclusive IMM Biomecha BRUSH FOR ZBRUSH).

Denis Bosque is Twisting Metal with People to Distress and Delight

An Artistic Exploration of Human and Alien, Metal and Flesh, Inside and Out

Amy Meszko
Published in
3 min readApr 5, 2023

--

I had the chance this weekend to play some of the Resident Evil 4 remake. I had forgotten a lot of the specific details and found some of the original experiences rushing back as I compared them to the new interpretations. There are parts of normal anatomy that are already quite bizarre, and there are a lot of ways that artists can tweak things that play heavily on the distress that’s inherent there.

Someone knows where this is going from this texture alone (Gigeresque texture).

Denis Bosque is a sci-fi design and modeling artist who creates unique artwork and textures with a lot of focus on transhumanism and horror monsters. He credits H.R. Giger as a significant influence in his work, and you can see the inspiration of Giger’s “biomechanical” style and techniques in Bosque’s portfolio.

Glossy and Shiny (Perfect organism _ xeno “1”).

I really think that Bosque’s biomech and “Gigeresque” textures look fantastic, and are very effective at what they’re meant to do. Some remind me more heavily of the textures used to create the aliens from the titular franchise. Others are more reminiscent of Giger’s later works, after he transitioned into using mediums other than the airbrush, where the edges became more defined and the implication of gloss in the metallics got more intense. He has textures and packs available for sale in his Artstation store. I also recommend checking out some of the works that are exclusive to Bosque’s Instagram at the moment. Some of these are wild.

Body mod competition vibes (Exclusive IMM Biomecha BRUSH FOR ZBRUSH).

I think I better draw something bizarre this week. “Don’t you do that normally,” I hear myself ask. While that may be true, maybe I need to really do my best to crank up the strange and unusual. Really channel that tax season anxiety. That’s still on the horizon. Looming.

Round it out with another runway ready look (Creature ornament).

Check out Bosque’s Artstation here!

Or, browse Instagram here!

If you are feeling inspired by this work, you should check out our Biomechanical category on GameTextures.com!

--

--

Amy Meszko
GameTextures

I sound angrier than I actually am. BA in English/Language Arts. Shout out to my mom, who got me into drawing so she could get things done.