Eugenio Garcia Villarreal showed us his thoughts on what Life After Humans would look like.

The Life After Humans Challenge by CGBoost was definitely an excellent event with many great submissions and, more importantly, incredible ideas.

Mike Haggerty
GameTextures

--

Interview by Michael Haggerty

Another great artist from a really cool challenge at CGboost, Eugenio Garcia Villarreal is an incredibly skilled artist with a diverse portfolio. Navigating through what he shows off ArtStation makes it plain to see that he loves to explore the world around him in a number of unique ways.

Colors

He creates beautiful environments and has a definite flair for placement and angle whenever he is developing the perfect product shot. Being a multidisciplinary artist has given him a grasp of the fundamentals that pays dividends on every piece he gets his hands on.

CGBoost challenges are a great place to test yourself, putting yourself out there and throwing your skills against the wall to see what sticks. The major benefit to GameTextures.com sponsoring these is that every month I essentially get paid to look at amazing art and talk with great artists.

It’s OK to be jealous.

I am rounding this article and this challenge out with a nice little interview with Eugene, who was the winner that GameTextures.com was honored to provide one of the prizes for the challenge (a free subscription to GameTextures.com)!

Mike Haggerty: “Where are you from, what where your motivations for jumping into 3D art?”

Eugenio Garcia Villarreal: “I’m from Monterrey Mexico. I started doing 3D due to the Toy Story movies, because I was looking for the methods they used to make the movie. Therefore, I learned that 3D art was really fun.”

Mike: “Do you primarily do only 3D art, what other art do you do and why?”

Rib Eye

Eugenio: “I’m a graphic designer, so occasionally I do some logos or 2D art in Photoshop, Procreate, or anything related to art.”

Mike: “How long did this particular piece take you?”

Eugenio: “It took me four days approximately, I worked like 8 hours every day.”

Mike: “Do you plan on working in Game Development? What are your long term goals for your art?

Eugenio: “I have a studio with other two partners here in Monterrey, but if there is a freelance chance maybe I can do some game development work.”

Mike: “What were the inspirations for this piece?”

Eugenio: “The main inspiration was a story about a hamburger that take a lot to decompose, so in this scene, where this hamburger keeps looking good after a lot of years, became the source of energy of many living things.”

Mike: “Where did you go to school, what was your experience like there?”

Eugenio: “I studied graphic design in Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon (UANL). it was a good experience, because I learned a lot of design basics and foundations.”

Mike: “Do you think that classroom learning for art is better than self teaching?”

Eugenio: “Everything is important, but you must love what you are studying. In my case, 3D was self-taught, but I applied the bases I learned at school to be able to combine them.”

Mike: “Could you include a link to a portfolio or previous work?”

Eugenio: “Sure! ”

--

--