I do love a blunt fringe and a monochrome outfit (88project).

Evgeniia Petrova is Weaving Exquisite and Elaborate Styles Online

A Clothing Designer with a Particular Talent for Creating Memorable and Detailed Art

Amy Meszko
Published in
3 min readFeb 15, 2023

--

I love watching tutorials when I’m doing research for Artist of the Week. To echo a point I made last week, there’s only so much that I can learn and practice enough to become an expert in it, so there’s a sense of awe I feel when I watch the process of someone who knows enough to feel comfortable teaching.

“Medieval Woman,” according to Google Translate (Медиевал женщина).

Enter Evgeniia Petrova, a costume and character artist in Vyatka, Russia, whose portfolio showcases a talent for unique design work, which pulls from a variety of eras and styles. Streetwear, fancy corsetry, elaborate gloves, school uniforms: There’s tons of variety and all of it has an attention to detail that makes them feel real and expensive.

I love the whole aesthetic, but the cat stockings are meow-t of this world (MD practice).

What isn’t expensive is access to the projects that Petrova has for sale online. Whether on Artstation, her own website, or by supporting her on Boosty, an aspiring artist with an interest in clothing design can find a lot of resources for an affordable price. She also posts streams and videos to Youtube, and I was able to watch videos that illustrated Petrova’s workflow pretty well. From what I can gather, all the projects for sale are subtitled if you don’t happen to speak Russian. I got a lot of enjoyment out of this video, a “making of” for a lovely corset design in Marvelous Designer.

This outfit has a set of really cool timelapse videos if you’ve got some time (Custom Outfit Clo, MD).

Sometimes I wonder if learning more about how to sew clothes has stunted my creativity when it comes to clothing design in more fantastical settings. When I see art like this, and how people are using advancements in technology and the tools we have to create it, I really start to reflect on whether or not that’s true. Maybe I need to learn more about the rules so that I can break them with confidence.

I hesitate to admit that I would wear this jacket without hesitation (Girl in a fur coat).
I like that the tag has her branding, it’s a really nice touch (bomber jacket).

Check out Evgeniia Petrova’s Artstation here!

Or, browse her personal site and Boosty!

--

--

Amy Meszko

I sound angrier than I actually am. BA in English/Language Arts. Shout out to my mom, who got me into drawing so she could get things done.