IIF//Munkhjin is Showing a Spectrum of Metal and Bone

Unique Influences of Culture and Story are presented Artfully and with Skill

--

Getting well doesn’t always mean instantly getting better. I’m certainly better than I was last week, but I’ve still got a cough, and some of my hair has fallen out. Even my eyelashes are thinner. I guess that last bit is an indicator that I was more ill than I wanted to believe this past few weeks. The psychological effects of illness are often overlooked in the rush to get back to the normal swing of things.

It’s been a while since I had that root canal (The skull).

IIF//Munkhjin is a 3D concept designer and artist out of Ulan Bator, Mongolia. IIF has a Bachelor’s in Graphic Design from the Mongolian University of Science and Technology. He does freelance work and offers materials for sale on Artstation’s marketplace. There’s clear cultural influences spread throughout IIF’s portfolio, as well as unique futuristic scenes, and each has their own charm.

My dad brought me a horse skull he found on a mountain, once (IIF METAL COLLECTION VOL III).

I like the presentation style IIF uses for the materials in this metal collection. Scrolling through the textures, displayed as they are on these skeletal horse statues and bells, left a really unique impression. In particular, the oxidation and patina on the copper shows such an incredible range of color and creates deep visual interest. There’s also some lovely visual storytelling in Hidden entrance to the Great Kingdom. I’m reminded of the opening sequences of Spirited Away; a tunnel being reclaimed by nature, but not enough to hide the mystery of what lies within. Something magical, calling the viewer to investigate with a curious column of light.

Soul aside, the warrior has remarkable teeth retention (The Warriors Soul).

Cartography. That’s what I’ve been holed up doing this week. I’m having a lot of fun translating the grand magical elements of a fantasy world into more subtle artistic representations on the map. It’s nice to be able to say that I’m practicing something new. The person I’m working with on the maps has a lot of faith in me, which gives me confidence to keep improving. I appreciate them for that.

Whatever’s down there is either super dangerous, or super worth it (Hidden entrance to the Great Kingdom).
Whatever’s down here feels mostly dangerous (The Secret Facility).

Check out IIF//Munkhjin on Artstation!

Or browse LinkedIn, X, or Instagram.

--

--

Amy Meszko
GameTextures

I sound angrier than I actually am. BA in English/Language Arts. Shout out to my mom, who got me into drawing so she could get things done.