Hoodwink Set

Julia Tikhonova Adds Her Own Beautiful Flare to the World of DOTA

A 3D Character artist with a beautiful sculpting style, her creature designs have graced the DOTA battle-pass for years.

Mike Haggerty
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2022

--

Forest Wyvern

Every so often there comes an artist that I find during my daily media trawling that just leap off the screen at me. These amazing artists almost always have a minimal media presence, high professional work and a potential work history that goes back for years but they are like ghosts in the system.

I have thought recently that I should collect some of these artists, ones that I can find very little about and just throw them into a larger meta article but until I do, I can grace your eyeballs with the work of one of these artists, Julia Tikhonova.

As a contract artist for Valve, she has been pumping out some really beautiful stylized character designs. Her most visible designs are characters created for DOTA 2, a hit MOBA created by Valve and Frozen Flame; a Survival RPG by Dreamside Interactive that seems a perfect fit for her style. I have a personal tendency to enjoy Stylized art almost as much as pixel art, her creatures look really cool and have all the right details to really sell their mythos. My favorite is probably the “Fluffy Mount” pictured below, the feather and fur detail are great and the design itself feels very unique, like a gryphon meets sphinx sort of vibe.

Make sure you check out her portfolio link below!

Don’t forget her Portfolio!

Fluffy mount
Golem

Looking for great textures for your own 3D journey? Check out the GameTextures library!

--

--