What big eye-shaped-viewing compartments you have (Goldfish Submarine).

Longque Chen is Drafting Dramatic Mechs and Mobile Villages

Combining Familiar Shapes and Forms to Create Something New and Exciting

Published in
3 min readJun 9, 2023

--

Something I love the most about art is the potential to create something that does not or simply cannot exist in the world. Whether it’s an issue of physics or practicality, those things can be transcended in the mind and then projected onto the canvas. It’s one of the things that makes art so compelling to share.

I want to call it a “Buttercopter” (Butterfly aircraft).

Longque Chen is a concept art and design artist whose portfolio covers a wide variety of mechs and monsters; creations of fantastical machinery inspired by forms from the animal kingdom, alongside monsters that modify or defy the natural forms they reference. Chen designs a lot of monsters and mechs, as well as futuristic buildings and vehicles, from war machines to construction equipment. He has also put his skills to work on concept art for the Callisto Protocol.

Perfect security against rising sea levels (Animal Town 2).

In an interview earlier this year, Chen elaborated on his art process, and discussed how he visualizes things in a very “2d” way when he starts ideating on a concept. He works in traditional mediums a lot, mapping out general shapes with marker and using a smaller lining pen to define the more detailed parts of his pieces. The alligator village above is a great example of the kid of detail that Chen adds to his images, and I highly recommend browsing that post and others like it. I didn’t know I needed to see a village on the back of a whale, or a rhino, or a bonsai tree, but now that I have, I regret nothing.

The 7/11 sign is my favorite touch (buffalo town).

This week, I was reminded that it’s very important to be careful when entering or exiting a bathtub. I didn’t fall, but the person who did is still feeling it. I know that’s not art related, but it’s right on the top of my mind. Sometimes it’s the mundane things that can be the most dangerous in the right context.

I’d love to see an entire bestiary in this style (Monster living on the ground).
Ants learn their environment by counting their steps (“ANT” walking mech).

Check out Chen’s Artstation here!

Or browse his Instagram!

Tweet at me about bathtub-related accidents here!

--

--

I sound angrier than I actually am. BA in English/Language Arts. Shout out to my mom, who got me into drawing so she could get things done.