1999. If you know, you know (One Piece Full Illustration REDRAW).

Mikel Mugica Amann’s Art Combines Charisma with Color and Style

This Portfolio Packs a Prismatic Punch with Pride

--

There are times when I look at an artist’s portfolio, and every scroll just brings up another piece of art that takes me by surprise. It’s a good surprise. It’s the feeling of, “Oh my gosh, I also love this thing, I can’t believe that this person with a unique and fascinating style also seems to like that thing!” Maybe it’s just me, but it’s not every day that I open an artist’s portfolio and find references to stuff like Sailor Moon and Yu-gi-oh, and specific manga I used to read when I was younger, and anime and manga that I’m watching and reading now, etc, etc. It’s just a good vibe.

She’s an icon, she’s a legend, and she IS the moment (Harpie Lady Sisters).

Mikel Mugica Amann is a concept and character artist located in Spain, who has a Masters in Character Design and 3d Modeling. Amann does Freelance work, and has worked for studios in the past doing Concept and Character Design. Amann’s style is spirited and colorful, and fittingly incorporates inspiration from muses across many facets of the arts. As a fun example, Amann incorporated visual ideas from Gustav Klimt and Alphonse Mucha to create this stunning rendition of the illustrious Raja, a drag queen well known for her impeccable styling.

It might be monsoon season in the fey wilds (Fairy Queen JINKX).

It’s actually really difficult for me to pick a piece to focus on from Amann’s portfolio, because every time I open a link, that artwork ends up at the top of my list of recommendations. Since I can’t just post an entire portfolio in a feature, I will narrow it down thusly: this Mermay Artbook post features lots of cool and colorful designs with a ton of diversity; the One Piece art I linked as the header for this feature has close-ups of each characters, so the viewer can really appreciate the details; and this Baroque Sleeping Beauty set is a treasure trove of character redesigns for everyone from Aurora to the fairy godmothers in 17th-century couture. I know, that is about as broad as narrow is allowed to be, I will not apologize.

Whale Shark, Jellyfish, AND Goldfish mermaids? I adore (MERMAY ARTBOOK).

Continuing the tradition of absolute nonsense happening around me at any given time, a family dog lost an eye this week. Yeah, a whole eye, and he’s doing way better without it. There’s just something really special about having to get up every few hours to take the fifty-or-more-percent-blind dog outside so he doesn’t run into anything. He’s got enough weird problems, no need to gamble with his last eye.

Urbosa makes me want to hit the gym (ZELDA Breath of the Wild URBOSA).
Imagine sleeping in that corset. Better yet, imagine sleeping (BAROQUE SLEEPING BEAUTY).

Check out Amann’s portfolio on Artstation!

Or browse Instagram or Amann’s shop!

Tell me how many eyes your dog has here!

--

--

Amy Meszko
GameTextures

I sound angrier than I actually am. BA in English/Language Arts. Shout out to my mom, who got me into drawing so she could get things done.