Open Commissions Spotlight: Designer Ayase Shin

Highlighting incredible designers and artists who understand streaming.

Caroline Engle
GameWisp’s Game Whispers
4 min readNov 28, 2017

--

Continuing our designer spotlight is another talented Commissions designer. Get to know Ayase Shin!

My name is Ayase Shin, The Queen of Evil! It is a pleasure to meet you. I’m an avid artist, animator and game-lover. My passion is to bring characters, streamers and content-creators to life in my work and represent more who they are when they’re in their element. Since the internet is so vast and filled with many incredible people I want to help them shine! Sometimes all we need is a little art in our lives to make it better.

This image was created in ClipstudioEX. My inspiration for designing this character was a close friend of mine who does Youtube Let’s Play series on varies RPGs and horror games.

I wanted to bring a lot of colour and sense of otherworldly atmosphere surrounding this character using the vastness of space to create that perspective.

Rather than place them in a particular scene from a popular game they have played I wanted to let the viewers understand just how open the gaming world is and to not judge a book by its cover.

My favorite part in illustrating this was the use of colours. Mixing them together and the illusion of space was hard to isolate. The client was very open with the direction of this and was very happy with the result.

I made a small avatar based on this character design for social media use. I originally had two different poses for the character but the background was pretty solid and was worked on prior to the character. My first thought was to have gaming consoles falling with them through the sky in a low view point perspective but I will save that for a later piece.

For specs I used a 8pt brush to draft and line with a 5pt pen on a large 4000 x 5000 px in a 150 resolution.

I hope to work on more space or water features in the future and really broaden my skills.

What did the client ask for with this design? What was the inspiration?

A: Brutalizer wanted his Twitch persona in chibi style art! Capturing his expressions, mannerisms and overall intense personality was fun to convey in this style.

What tools did you use to create this graphic?

ClipstudioEx and PS are my tools of trade and really help me solidify the lines and bring it together with various colour schemes.

How many drafts did you go through with the client?

I went through 3 different version of this character until I was finally satisfied with the pose and expression. Going over each step with the client; draft, colouring.

How much input did they have throughout the commission?

From the beginning the client was in complete control over pose, expression and provided various assets to help bring them to life!

Anything else you want to share about this graphic?

Overall I truly enjoyed creating this dark character, this was my first attempt at chibi-serious style!

What did the client ask for with this design? What was the inspiration?

Zoro4Me3 wanted her character personified in her pirate queen theme on Twitch. I used her real image to base the characters and posture.

What tools did you use to create this graphic?

ClipstudioEX and PS are my go to for software. Sketching drafts in my sketchbook helps put down concepts.

How many drafts did you go through with the client?

Her pose was really striking to me as an idea and projecting her power and presence was key. This was the second version I was satisfied with.

How much input did they have throughout the commission?

Every step from drafting the character to putting the colours together was all imagined by Zoro4Me3. The background I illustrated based on her theme.

Anything else you want to share about this graphic?

I loved creating Zoro’s character and I can’t wait to create more!

Reach out to Ayase for your stream’s art and design needs by clicking here. You can also check out her stream, hit her up on Twitter, and check out her deviant art page.

And be sure to follow us on Twitter, and keep your eyes on this space for all the latest updates, news, and announcements from us at GameWisp!

--

--