Gap Year, Week 4: Moving on and Reflection in Italy

Annie C. Reller
Gap Years and Company
3 min readSep 29, 2019

It’s weird how time passes. The first week felt exceptionally long, getting used to everything and learning the routines, but also just realizing I would be away from my family, friends, and home for 3 months. Realizing that even though I would be around others, it feels like I will be alone for 3 months. This last week has gone by so quickly. Of course, the kids had school every day but it zoomed by. In a way, I think it took until this week where I feel totally comfortable with the family — Davide seems to have finally accepted me and I joke around with Guilia. I can make conversation but I’m no longer afraid of the silences- I don’t feel awkward when sitting by a 15-minute conversation in Italian.A month is a long time. I would say it’s long enough to fully experience something, to live it. That’s the best part of this- I don’t feel like I’m visiting Copertino, I feel like I’m living here. I got to experience what everyday life is like in another country, and for that I am grateful. I got to live here rather than be a tourist. And I still have two more visits, equally long, to experience different types of Italian life. I am excited to see how it varies by region and family. Of course, I am excited to keep eating this delicious and fresh food!

I am looking forward to having my own room at my next gig, and hopefully to having ‘off time’. I think that I will have more of a schedule- it will be nice to know when to ‘work’ and when to chill. I also think I will have weekends off- in which case I plan to travel and see some new cities. I am excited for all of this! I am a bit apprehensive as to what kind of work I will be doing. I don’t know what to expect, so I am interested to see what I end up doing. It will be strange to go from chilling every day to working. I also wonder if I’ll get tired and lonely in the alone time I crave while here. I will work on my reading project and journal, as well as maybe pull out the ukulele I brought (as I have had no alone time here, I have yet to try and learn).

I also hope I am appreciating this experience enough. I know it’s so cool and I love to learn about everything, but at the same time I am very excited to go home and be home and be with my family. I don’t want to rush through this time, not soaking it up. It’s also weird, that after a month, I don’t feel ready to come home yet. There is more for me to do here.

Now- off to Siena for a few days. I am staying with my mom’s cousin, Julianne, and her daughter Catie. They live outside Siena. I’m very excited to see them!

Ps. Some things I did this week:

1. The mayor of Cupertino, California came to Copertino! I went to the ceremony where the elementary kids welcomed him. They sang the national anthem which was funny to hear some of the words mispronounced. Then they sang bohemian rhapsody!

2. I got dinner with one of Sofia’s English speaking friends and her little sister. The little sister was super cute and reminded me of my cousin Avery when she was younger. Except Avery I can talk to!

3. I am so thankful for my Copertino family! Thank you for the opportunity.

4. I have decided that ultimately, the best gelato flavor in Cupertino is Nutella.

Originally published at http://anniereller.wordpress.com on September 29, 2019.

--

--