Poetry

A Lover’s Tale

Everything I shouldn’t do as a lover

Adunni Adeh
Garden of Neuro

--

drawing of a woman with a flower in her hair
Picture from a friend's art

Hey baby,

I want you to wake up to this.

It's been 5 years since I met you,

5 years of bliss and peace.

I never thought happiness could feel like this.

You make me so giddy and light, it's a thing of a dream.

You so complete me that I am filled to the brim.

When I'm down I only have to look into your eyes to feel loved,

Loved so deeply that in you I want to get lost.

Lost in the safety of your arms where my world is secured.

Secured and assured have been my reality since you

Are the missing piece that has come to give me peace.

It should be a crime to be this happy.

Many don't get to feel like this, and it's a thing of a pity.

You’ve expanded my heart, and you’ve loved me like a piece of art.

This is like a fantasy going on into eternity.

It is a beauty that doesn’t need the eyes to be behold.

And that, baby, is where the problem began.

I've closed my eyes to the reality that is you,

To chase after the love that I think I am due.

I can't see you in this multicolored shade of mine

And to remove it is to wallow in loneliness and die.

I can’t go back to the dark even if your light is nothing but a spark,

A spark I held on to for too long thinking it would lead me to my light.

You were only meant to show me the way.

Your light is not the sun that will make me the hay.

But deprived of illumination, I mistook a delusion for a solution.

So baby, it’s been 5 years of loving my imagination of you because I need to love.

Now, I know I should have told you thank you for making me smile, instead of giving you my heart, inviting you to do it again.

Apparently, you won’t be waking up to this because then I won’t have a YOU to love.

Happy fifth anniversary, Gozie.

You are not the one, but you're the one's shadow and I have to be okay with that..….

I wrote this poem trying to live inside a woman who has a lot of love to give but failed to love herself. If you love this poem, please give me 5 claps and a comment.😉

Brand art by Gael MacLean

--

--

Adunni Adeh
Garden of Neuro

Chasing peace while writing everything and nothing all at once