FREE VERSE POETRY

A Mother’s Love Is Like A Compass

A poem for mother

cindee D Renee
Garden of Neuro

--

Photo by Chidy Young on Unsplash

A mother’s love is like a compass

She navigates the way

My way

She tells me where to go

I may not follow

I may steer myself

in the wrong direction

As she’s Captain of my life ship

Yes Ma’am!

She’s my lighthouse

Flashing her guiding light

right before me

For the world to see.

She’s my GPS

Illuminating with new technology

don’t take me to a dead end

And leave me there.

Her moral compass,

determines my directions

Her eastern ways

Leads me to the sunshine

Her northern star

Is Polaris

Takes my darkness away

Her Southern cross

I’ve seen many times

The angled cross

She gets 5 stars

Out of 5

I rise

Her due west

Puts me to the test

Glaring at the sunset

I don’t regret

Her orientation

Through my life.

She stabilized

The unstable

Her compass rose

Suppressed my growth

Sort of.

Her angles

Her glass shelter

Her golden topper

Covered up

Her own meaning.

Her magnetic field

Continues to draw me

Closer in.

I won’t get pricked,

By her magnetized needle

It doesn’t hurt

Much.

At this point,

She pivots me

To my rotating axis

Of dreams unclear

To regelation and fear

My geographical

Location, location, location!

Is sheer navigation.

No moss

Or vegetation

Can she pinpoint where I am now?

She mapped

My destiny.

A lamp to my feet,

Polishing my pathways

straight and super strong

As the days are long.

The light of God’s love

Radiating in her.

Her compass is dimmed,

She lives to guide no more.

Still my enteral flame.

Thank you Sumaya Ali for this poem’s inspiration.

Thank you for reading.

Bring your words

--

--