HAIBUN CHALLENGE

Haibun Poetry Challenge Day 22

Fat love

Nolcha Fox
Garden of Neuro
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2024

--

green, yell, white, orange, blue, pink striped beach ball in a turquoise pool
Photo by Raphaël Biscaldi on Unsplash

Please join us in our March Garden of Medium haibun challenge!

A haibun is a combination of prose and haiku.

Today’s prompt: fat love

Fat Love
by Nolcha Fox

Imagine me, a rubber ball my dog could barely carry, a dust bunny too large to hide, proclaiming dust is glory. Imagine me, too fat to care for dirty floors, dishes piled in the sink, too fat with love to hear the gossip of the neighbors as they gawk at disarray and worry I am crazy.

I can’t plan for love.
I can’t store it in the pantry
for a rainy day.

published in Medusa’s Kitchen

Fat Love
by Susan Brearley

It’s a love big as a house, not just an apartment
a grapefruit, not a mandarin
A plantain, not a banana
a Hummer, not a Mini Cooper

It’s a love bigger than a 747, but not wild like a rocket ship
It’s a thunderstorm, but not a hurricane
A hill where I can climb to the summit, not a rock climbing ascent
A sunflower, but not the all-consuming heat of the sun.

--

--