HAIBUN CHALLENGE

Haibun Poetry Challenge Day 5

What we’ve lost

Nolcha Fox
Garden of Neuro
Published in
3 min readMar 12, 2024

--

drawing of a woman tending her poison pots
image by Vivi Sojorhn

Please join us in our March Garden of Medium haibun challenge!

For more information on writing a haibun:

Today’s prompt: what we’ve lost

Lost Things
by Nolcha Fox

I lost my memory when she died. I couldn’t recognize things she owned, knew no history, felt no tenderness for treasures to be cleared out quickly from her rented room.

Thoughts of her
litter the floor
with disremembered jewelry

Months later, I remembered what was lost. Afghans and sweaters I crocheted for her. The poetry books I wrote for her. The birthday cards. All gone. Perhaps somebody gave them a new home. Perhaps they’re in a landfill.

I can’t reclaim the hours
I poured into her gifts.
Time and arthritis won’t let me recreate them.

--

--