Women’s Health

I Opted Out of the Breast Cancer Options

Reconstruction? Not for me. I’m a one boob wonder.

Susan Brearley
Garden of Neuro
Published in
3 min readDec 6, 2020

--

I am a breast cancer survivor. And not just any cancer. The one that everyone whispers about. Or doesn’t even know about.

I have always been an outlier. With so many things. I was the little girl that read every book in the kindergarten library early, so they needed to find me more challenging reads.

I was the Girl Scout that ran out of space on my sash for badges. So I had to have a badge box to store them in. What girl sets a goal at 9 years old to get ALL the badges?

From single handedly building computer systems that should take a team of 4, to running 4 publications on Medium simultaneously, I am that person who is indomitable, unstoppable. And now I am not afraid to talk about that.

Please don’t get me wrong. This is not a story meant to have you comparing your accomplishments to mine. This character trait of mine is, I am sure, an early coping mechanism I adopted to deal…

--

--

Susan Brearley
Garden of Neuro

Writing on Medium since 2016. Boost Nominator, EIC (8 publications), Entrepreneur, Coach, IMBA Community Leader, NGO Founder. https://linktr.ee/SusanBrearley