LEAVING/ CONTEMPORARY SONNET

I Wasn’t Sorry I Stayed So Long

Sonnet and More Poetry Challenge Day 4

cindee D Renee
Garden of Neuro

--

people taking a test
Photo by Mikael Kristenson on Unsplash

Testing is not for the young at heart,

Nor the faint of heart doing well,

pen quivers with nerves rattled in deep thoughts,

Of answers to questions yet to tell.

I glanced at the lazy test takers,

The ones whose thoughts seemed best,

never coming nor leaving through the class doors,

Some intellectual minds cut above the rest?

They’d pop up and leave one by one,

Like stock car racers around a track,

speeding out the door to roads ahead,

To onward journeys never looking back.

The professor said, “the least two I have to worry about,” cultivated her knowledge:

I being one of them-I knew was meant for college.

--

--