Poetry

Making Peace

Every day transactions

Richa Dinesh Sharma
Garden of Neuro

--

Photo by Vikas Baniwal on Unsplash

When I reassure my mother

who’s with her son

in a land far far away

that I will change the garland

that decks my father’s portrait,

humoring his long departed soul,

an annual ritual spelled out

in scripture and my mother’s mind

because she misses him so

and doesn’t wish for him to feel

neglected, forgotten, caught in a photo,

to his old room, eternally confined

I know in those moments

when I buy a rudraksh garland

that making peace with grief

is an everyday transaction…

Garden of Neuro Institute

--

--

Richa Dinesh Sharma
Garden of Neuro

An obsessive writer, a sad poet, a blogger, an artist, an optimist, and a remote editor for FineLines Journal, Nebraska. And writing all soul and heart...